My Memorable Books of 2013

It seemed that this year, the ‘best of’ book lists appeared earlier and earlier. I’m not complaining, because it allowed me to add books to my Christmas and birthday wish lists. However, I’ve decided to wait until later before making my own list. I am quite loath the call this my ‘best’ books of 2013. Every book I’ve read this year has had at least one feature that makes it memorable and special. I’m also not going to name books that I thought were disappointing or actively disliked because: 1. If I really disliked it, you won’t find it on the blog; 2. It takes a lot of work to produce a book, so kudos should be given for completing it and 3. It’s just one person’s opinion.

So in no particular order, here are some books that I loved during 2013 and remain memorable in my mind. Click on the picture to read my review.

One Little White Lie by Loretta Hill


A novella that’s smartly written, quirky and loads of fun.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

Why did I wait so long to read this classic? An unforgettable story.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

Original idea – the character dies over and over until she gets it ‘right’. But what are the right choices?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion


Professor Don TIlman is the unlikely romantic hero of the year. Funny and sweet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth


Incredible research brings the story of Rapunzel alive in this beautifully crafted book.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Notorious Life by Madame X by Kate Manning


A beautifully written story of a woman in New York who is notorious for her message (and devices) of contraception.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Yearning by Kate Belle


The ultimate story of how young love taints our future and the best comeuppance I’ve ever read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon


A dazzling debut into the fantastical futuristic world of Scion through the eyes of talented voyant Paige.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Outback Dreams by Rachael Johns


The perfect capture of life in a small Australian rural town.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Eyrie by Tim Winton


Acerbic one liners about Western Australia and a troubled hero (if you can call Keely that) make this read with dry wit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You’ll note there’s no mention of The Goldfinch or The Luminaries, but I haven’t read them yet! Honourable mentions go to Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple, Constance by Patrick McGrath, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel by Deborah Moggach, Kiss Me First by Lottie Moggach and Z : A Novel of Zelda Fitzgerald by Therese Anne Fowler.

What do you think? Do recommend me some of your favourites for 2013.

10 thoughts on “My Memorable Books of 2013

Add yours

  1. I like that your list is ‘memorable’ as opposed to ‘best’ books. There is a difference- some of the books I’ve read this year that I gave 5/5 to are less ‘memorable’ than some I gave 4/5 to – good examples being My Notorious Life, The Rosie Project and The Last Banquet (by Jonathan Grimwood).

    I haven’t read Life After Life – initially it didn’t attract me but I keep seeing it on everyone’s ‘favourites for 2013’ lists, so I’ve added it to the TBR stack.

  2. Great list!! I’ve been eyeing life after life so I’m glad to hear you liked it so much. I have the goldfinch on my tbr as well to kick off.the new.year.

  3. I like seeing ‘The Rosie Project’ on this list…especially since I just bought it and I am very excited to read it! I always hear amazing things! I am also really excited to read Life After Life, but it is sooo huge! Great list!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

