Mailbox Monday 30/12/13: Christmas edition

The final Mailbox Monday of the year – thank you to all those who have hosted, taken part and commented throughout 2013.

Rose City Reader is our Mailbox Monday host this month. Mailbox Monday was started by Marcia as a way of sharing your new books and having fun at the same time. In 2014, it will be hosted at the Mailbox Monday site permanently.

My final Mailbox Monday contains the presents I received for Christmas. Everyone seems to know me rather well…

The first parcel is from my LibraryThing SantaThing (Secret Santa), Miela. Thank you, you picked well! I haven’t read Susanna Kearsley, Jill Mansell or Georgette Heyer before. They look like lovely romance based books!

I also received a copy of the Beautiful Owls book. The pictures are gorgeous! I’m looking forward to reading how the pictures were taken.

I also received this gorgeous trio of Persephone books- Hostages to Fortune by Elizabeth Cambridge, The Blank Wall by Elizabeth Sanxay Holding and The Fortnight in September by RC Sherriff. The bookmarks match the endpapers.

There were some other lovely books – the new John Grisham, Sycamore Row; Australian political thriller Dismissal by Nicholas Hasluck and the history of plastic surgery, In Your Face by Dr Bryan Mendelson.

A gorgeous book journal, My Bibliophile and Summerset Abbey by T.J. Brown (a must for Downton Abbey fans) were also under the tree.


Two books by Dr Karl Kruszelnicki, Curious and Curiouser and Game of Knowns will satisfy my science appetite.

Finally, two cookbooks to round off the year. Matt Preston gets saucy with a sealed section in Fresh, Fast and Unbelievably Delicious while Adam Liaw will keep me going with Asian After Work.

Phew! I’m going to be busy. Will the book trend continue tomorrow with my birthday? Find out next week!

Do you receive books for Christmas? How do you ensure you don’t double up?

18 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 30/12/13: Christmas edition

Add yours

  1. I’ve yet to read anything by Susanna Kearsley, Jill Mansell or Georgette Heyer either, but I’ve heard such great things about each. And I do at least own one Georgette Heyer book, so hopefully I have the chance to get to her soon as well. Happy reading!

  2. Wow, you did receive a great haul for Christmas. I have read a few Georgette Heyerdahl but it was long ago.
    I received Di Morrisey’s latest book and can’t wait to read it. Also 3 cookbooks. One the latest from The Bourke St Bakery. I am itching to try some of the recipes.
    Happy Birthday for tomorrow. I hope you receive lots of books.

  3. You really scored this week! Those Persephone books are gorgeous. And what a fun trio of books from your secret santa! Happy reading and happy birthday!

  4. Boy oh boy, you did really well… People are generally too scared to buy me a book these days in case I have already read it! So many great titles and those Persephone titles are gorgeous.

  5. Oh, Sam, these should keep you busy for quite some time! I love that you have three Persephone book, you luck. 😉 The others look good, too, particularly Sycamore Row. I haven’t yet read a book by Jill Mansell, but I own one as a freebie on my nook, and i hear wonderful things about her.

  6. My mother-in-law loves Georgette Heyer. I haven’t read any of her books yet, but I’ve read Hazel Statham, whose work has been compared to hers. I so want to read Summerset Abbey.

    I received several books for Christmas. I use my Amazon Wish List to make book buying easier for people. I’m pretty good about knowing what I have here. I’ve only ever doubled up on a book once.

    Thanks for stopping by The Busy Mom’s Daily.

  7. Wow…what a wonderful mailbox for you.

    The new John Grishman is pretty good. My sister and I took turns reading it to each other while we were driving. 🙂 Well one of us was driving and one was reading. 🙂

    Love your books from LibraryThing SantaThing. Great covers.

    Happy New Year!!

    International giveaway on my blog on January 2.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

