Mailbox Monday 13/1/14

A new year means a new home for Mailbox Monday. Originally created by Marcia of To Be Continued, you can find the linky list all year round at Mailbox Monday.

It’s incredibly hot as I type this – over 40˚C (104˚F) before 10am! This will be short and sweet as not even the air conditioner is making life manageable! It’s a day for not doing very much – perhaps reading and drinking iced tea. It’s days like this where I wish I still had a swimming pool at home!

Just two books this week – one I bought and one I won. The book I bought is by Jennifer Worth, who inspired the Call the Midwife television programme, writing three books on her time as the midwife. In the Midst of Life focuses on palliative care and contains both history and nursing stories at the end of life. A very different topic, but I really like how Jennifer writes, so I know I’ll learn a lot.

The second book was a prize from Text Publishing, a signed copy of The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion. I loved this book (one of my 2013 favourites) so I’m incredibly proud to have this on my shelf. I also heard that there will be a sequel and possibly a movie! Very, very excited!

Well, I’m off to check if the breeze that’s suddenly picked up is hot or cold.

Did you add any books to your collection this week? Which ones?

17 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 13/1/14

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

