Mailbox Monday 24/2/14

Summer is back with a vengeance here! It’s much too hot to do very much at all except read (it’s even too hot to walk to the shops at lunchtime). Fortunately, there are quite a few good new releases out and some lovely people sending them to me! Thank you!

2014 means a new home for Mailbox Monday. Originally created by Marcia of To Be Continued, you can find the linky list all year round at Mailbox Monday. Join in the fun there!

I received a lovely package from Bloomsbury Sydney in the mail – a copy of Terms and Conditions by Robert Glancy (my second copy, but this book is going to be HOT – so many people have asked to borrow it, so I don’t mind) – I love the final cover and of course, the footnotes. TaraShea Nesbit’s The Wives of Los Alamos is so good, I read it in between sessions of a writer’s festival. A novel of the women who went to Los Alamos on a secret project, this has great historical perspective.

The trend for pretty covers continued with Harlequin sending a copy of City of Jasmine by Deanna Raybourn. Set in the 1920s, the book involves a female aviator, a disappearing husband and a trip to Damascus to find out the truth. This will be my first Deanna Raybourn, which I’m really looking forward to.

Is the weather keeping you from getting out and about?

15 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 24/2/14

Add yours

  1. I just finished reading City of Jasmine yesterday! My first Raybourn too and I really enjoyed it 🙂 Looking forward to cracking open T&C this week!! Happy reading

  2. Hi Sam,

    We haven’t really had much of a winter, here in the South of the UK. It has been very windy, totally waterlogged and flooded, yet very mild. No cold frosty days to kill off the bugs and diseases means that we are probably in for a bumper year of nuisance insects and pests!

    You have some great books this week, however the one which caught my eye is ‘Terms And Conditions’, as I have a very good friend who had this happen to her a few years back. She awoke to find herself in a Swedish hospital after she and her husband had been involved in a car accident, not knowing who she was and not remembering either her husband or two young children and having been in a coma for several months.

    It took her many years to recover much of her memory, although her life by then had been changed forever, however she and her husband are still very much together and happy.

    Have a great week and try to stay cool!

    Yvonne

  3. All of your new books look good to me! Hope your temps lower a bit so you can enjoy being outdoors. We’re the opposite in my area – polar vortex and all that…

  4. Oooh, gorgeous cover on City of Jasmine. I’m looking forward to reading Terms & Conditions. It doesn’t release in the US until April. That’s one I want to read in print rather than listen to.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

