Mailbox Monday 3/3/14

So it’s now officially autumn here. Somebody forgot to tell the weather that! It’s still hot with no chance of rain. I’ve taken to reading the weather forecast for other cities and dreaming! In between that, I managed to catch a summer cold and gain an impressive cough. So impressive that the parcel post man wasn’t too keen on getting near me! He did deliver a few goodies this week though.

The first to arrive was Chris Pavone’s The Accident from Allen and Unwin and The Reading Room. This book is a thriller involving an anonymous manuscript sent to a literary agent which contains some amazing revelations about a public figure. Then the CIA gets involved and things get deadly…a bookish thriller sounds fantastic. Love it!

I don’t think I read enough thrillers, even though I like the genre, so I was very pleased for The Reading Room to send me Lisa Unger’s In the Blood. It’s about Lana, a constant liar and the boy she looks after, Luke. Luke is used to having things his way, but all that changes when Lana’s friend disappears and someone is ready to tell the truth about Lana’s lies… So creepy but I really want to find out why Lana is a liar.

You know a book is going to be good when Sophie Hannah has the cover blurb. The Silversmith’s Wife
by Sophia Tobin
is historical fiction, but with a thriller vein. A silversmith is found dead in 1792 and a web of secrets is uncovered. Why does the silversmith’s wife feel so guilty? What hides in her past? I really want to stop writing this now and read! Thank you again to The Reading Room for this book.

I finally spent some of my birthday vouchers this week too! I couldn’t resist the March new releases, especially after reading about them on Twitter. (Many UK tweeters were talking about both these books). A Hundred Pieces of Me by Lucy Dillon is about Gina, who is starting afresh. She’s only going to keep one hundred items dear to her, and get rid of the rest. But can she do it – retire the demons of the past and look forward to the future? This book is a special size according to Lucy Dillon, just for Australia and New Zealand. We are lucky!

Jojo Moyes’ The One Plus One looks certain to tug at the heart strings (I don’t think I’ve got over The Last Letter From Your Lover yet). It’s about Jess and her children doing their best on their own until Ed comes into their life. Can Ed save the family from sinking? Will Jess let him? I love the contrast in colours between these two books.

Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read!

13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 3/3/14

Add yours

  1. Hope you feel better soon! We finally got a break from the heat with some rain.

    I like that cover of In the Blood! I hope to read that one soon.

    And two of your books really caught my eye- A Hundred Pieces of Me and The One Plus One. Plus they are so nicely color coordinated!

    Enjoy your books and your week 🙂

  2. Nice week. The One Plus One sounds really good. But I enjoy thrillers too. I received In the Blood and The Accident a few weeks back, just need time to read them.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

