Mailbox Monday 10/3/14

This week, I decided to use some of my vouchers that I got from earning points to buy what else but more books…I don’t feel guilty doing this because they’re kind of a treat! After much deliberation, I chose these three books. Dark Places by Gillian Flynn looked quite thriller-ish and even more twisted than Gone Girl. It’s the story of Libby, whose brother killed a number of people. Her evidence convicted Ben, and now she’s grown up, she begins to realise there are a lot more secrets surrounding that day.

I’ve picked up The Affairs of Others by Amy Grace Loyd several times – I love the cover design and it also has a creepy tinge to it. Celia owns a small apartment block in New York and her tenants are chosen because of her need for privacy. But when Hope moves in, the silence is broken and life forces its way in.

Finally, I read that Rachael Johns really enjoyed Alice Clayton’s Wallbanger, which seems fun and sexy. It’s about Caroline, who moves into a new apartment (I seem to have a thing about moving this week) where her neighbour’s passionate liaisons keep her awake constantly. She confronts him, only to find things get more crazy…

I was also lucky enough to receive a copy of The Tea Chest by Josephine Moon from the kind onions at Allen and Unwin and The Reading Room. If you’ve ever seen my tea cupboard (yes, cupboard), you’ll know I love my tea. This book is the story of three women and The Tea Chest, a shop devoted to tea. The Tea Chest isn’t doing all that well, and Kate, Leila and Elizabeth all have other issues to deal with. Can they work through this with the love and friendship of others?

Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read!

18 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 10/3/14

Add yours

  1. These books all look pretty great to me! I’ve switched from coffee to tea and I’m addicted, though I don’t have a cupboard 😉 And yes, I think you do need to show us your tea stash with your review.

    Enjoy all your books, Sam and have a great week!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

