Mailbox Monday 21/4/14

I hope you are all having a lovely Easter break. As always, the lead up to Easter is very busy and I didn’t get a lot of reading done. I also worked half of Easter, so I’m hoping to settle down with a book and an Easter egg today!

Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read!

I only had one book in the letterbox this week, thanks to Bloomsbury Sydney and The Reading Room. Don’t you love the dreamy cover of The Sleepwalker’s Guide to Dancing by Mira Jacob? It’s a beautiful ARC – heavy, with smooth white paper. The book involves a set of events affecting Amina and her family. Twenty years later, Amina returns home to confront a mystery and her family’s past in addition to her own ghosts. The book is released in Australia in August 2014 and in the US in July.

I also couldn’t resist picking up some books as an Easter present to myself. I’ve been hearing rave reviews for The First Fifteen Lives of Harry August by Claire North. (Note that Claire North is a pseudonym for a well known writer – according to internet gossip, all shall be revealed on 22nd April UK time). Harry’s problem is that he keeps living the same life over and over. As soon as he dies, he is born again, but with the knowledge of his previous lives. But at the end of one of his lives he is asked by a child to save the world – a message travelling back in time. Can he fix the future by going back to the past? I’m already a third into this book and am loving it.

Northanger Abbey by Val McDermid is part of the The Austen Project, a modernisation of Jane Austen’s classic. Here, Catherine is at the Edinburgh Festival and has a fascination with vampire novels. She falls for Henry and an invitation to Northanger Abbey is just too good to pass up… I’ll be interested to see if the modernisation has similar satire to the original…

And my bumper book haul? Here’s part of it:

I love the Muppets! This book goes through heaps of Muppets, from the popular to the less common. It’s a must for the Muppet fan.

What did you receive in your letterbox this week?

16 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 21/4/14

Add yours

    1. I just have to grumble about this… when I went to goodreads to add the book to my to-read list I found a boring run-of-the-mill cover that looked nothing like your ARC. So I popped over to Bloomsbury’s page and found an absolutely gorgeous cover. They must think Americans are horribly boring. 😦 Yeah, I have a cover problem!

  1. Ooh The Sleepwalkers Guide to Dancing does look and sound great! But like Leslie I’m underwhelmed by the US cover art. Harry August also sounds fun, and I’m curious about the author! Have a good week Sam 🙂

  2. Pingback: Mailbox Monday

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

