Mailbox Monday 28/4/14

Finally, I can show you the very last of my bookshop haul from Christmas and birthday vouchers. Despite these sitting on my desk for a couple of weeks, I haven’t got around to reading any of them! I’ve been too busy working (therefore, earning more money for more sprees). Nothing in the letterbox this week as Australia had an Easter public holiday on Monday and Anzac Day on Friday. Lest we forget.

Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read!

All three of these books are ones that have been on my wish list for quite some time. I got the recommendation for Motherland by William Nicholson from a blogger (I’m sorry, I can’t remember who but thank you). It’s a Second World War story set in the UK involving a love triangle. The Yonahlossee Riding Camp for Girls by Anton DiSclafani has been on my radar since it appeared on several US based blogs last year. Set in the Depression, the camp is rocked by rumour when Thea Atwell arrives and things just keep changing… Finally, The Rehearsal by Eleanor Catton
is a book I’ve picked up many times (even pre The Luminaries). It involves a sex scandal becoming a drama school show, bringing a lot of private things to the fore…sounds rather different to Catton’s next book!

The Aviator’s Wife by Melanie Benjamin is another book that was big on US blogs, but entered the Aussie market a little more quietly (one of the reasons blogs are great, because you find gems!). This is a fictionalised account of Anne Morrow who married Charles Lindbergh, dashing pilot and so much more than just his wife. My last book was very big on many UK blogs – The Woman Upstairs by Claire Messud not only has a gorgeous cover, but some rave reviews. It’s the story of teacher Nora, who is drawn into one of her student’s families with shocking consequences.

I think this Mailbox Monday should be called the Bloggers Edition as many of the books I bought were based on seeing them on other blogs! Are you inspired by other blogs for book recommendations?

 

10 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 28/4/14

Add yours

  1. I really enjoyed The Aviator’s Wife! It’s not a setting I had had the opportunity to read a lot about, so it was different but also well written and interesting. And I read some rave reviews of The Woman Upstairs, too. I need to get my hands on it! 🙂

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

