Mailbox Monday 19/5/14

The previous week has been incredibly busy for a couple of reasons and I’ve been trying to catch up all weekend. It was lovely to spend some time on Sunday looking at the parcels that had come in over the week and just chill. Hopefully I’ll get to sit and read some soon – I haven’t been reading much due to so much going on.

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

The first book I received was a prize from Aussie author Sara Foster, a signed copy of her book Come Back to Me. Thanks Sara! The story is about two couples and one person with a mysterious identity. By keeping secrets, will these people be risking it all?

 

My Bookworld order also arrived with a long-awaited copy of All Change for Nurse Millie by Jean Fullerton. Millie is a newly married nurse in late 1940’s London, trying to work and keep a home but things from the past come back into her life… I adored Call Nurse Millie, so I’m excited for this book. I also received a gift of Su Dharmapala’s Saree (beautiful cover) – a story covering many years across the world involving love and a saree…

A parcel from Harlequin Australia arrived the following day containing a new Aussie saga for June 2014 – J.H. Fletcher’s Dust of the Land. Set in the Pilbara region of Western Australia, it involves a cattle station, the mining industry and a business on the brink. There’s also the matter of a lost lover…

Tangled Up is one of Cosmo’s Red-Hot Reads, a part of Harlequin I haven’t tried before, but was drawn to because I like Megan Hart’s novels. Besides the story from Megan, there’s also bold and sexy stories from Sarah Morgan and Lauren Dane. The protagonists seem to fit Cosmo’s image of being strong women who aren’t afraid to say want they want – anytime.

Finally, thanks to Allen & Unwin and The Reading Room, I have some new reads for July and August. Cherry Bomb by Jenny Valentish is about two girls in a smash-hit band determined to be something more without falling over the edge and their aunt, determined to make her own musical comeback. The story is about fame, music and love and the work it takes to make it to the top and stay there.

Sami Shah is a comedian, telling his story in I, Migrant as he migrates from Pakistan to Western Australia. It’s going to be both funny and sad. Most of all, I’m looking forward to the W.A. jokes!

Which of these books takes your fancy? I love that there’s a variety of genres here, so I’m sorted for winter!

10 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 19/5/14

Add yours

  1. Hope this week is calmer for you, Sam. You sure got some lovely books! Saree is absolutely gorgeous.Come Back to Me looks like a good one too. Enjoy!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

