Mailbox Monday 23/6/14

There was nothing in my mailbox all of last week – possibly a good thing, as it’s been raining and windy most of the week. Not the safest book weather! I did brave the weather on Saturday to get my hands on several new releases. I did get drenched on the way back to the car (my jumper still isn’t dry 24 hours later), but I think it was worth it to pick these up. What do you think?

I’m a huge fan of Penny Vincenzi (she’s an auto-buy for me), so I needed to buy A Perfect Heritage. At 753 pages, this sounds good. It’s about a cosmetics house, warring women in business and ‘ambition and ego, passion and wonder’. Plus, you have to love a book with a character list! I don’t think The Silkworm needs much of an introduction, being from J.K. Rowling / Robert Galbraith, but it’s the second book featuring Cormoran Strike, private detective. He’s investigating a missing novelist, which turns into murder. I just love the names J.K. Rowling comes up with – why didn’t we twig last year?

I read a short story last week by Melanie Milburne (Engaged at the Chatsfield) and I’ve been completely sucked into the luxury hotel world of The Chatsfield. This is an interactive series, with eBooks, books, novellas and a website where you can ‘check in’ (my book even has a reservation number for my ‘stay’!). I’m a little bit late to the series, so couldn’t find book 1 (you can still get it online) but there’s 8 books in total. They’ll be out once a month. This is perfect light reading for me when I’m snowed under or just after something fun and light. I also read Marion Lennox for the first time early this year and found her books fun and light-hearted. I couldn’t resist three medical stories (medical books are my catnip as Smart Bitches, Trashy Books would say)! Seriously, if anyone could recommend medical fiction of any type, I’d be grateful.

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 23/6/14

Add yours

  1. I’ve still yet to read any of the Robert Galbraith books! I’ve been wanting to ever since it came out they were J.K. Rowling, but just haven’t made time for them yet. Hope you enjoy it!

  2. I like Penny Vincenzi, too, and of course I’m always up for a cosmetics house read. How fun! I have yet to read the latest Rowling detective books, but I agree: her character’s names are wonderful.

  3. A Perfect Heritage looks good…love the book’s cover.

    I have a T-shirt that has STRIKE on the front and The Silkworm on the back. Now I know what STRIKE means. 🙂 I was wondering what it meant, and now I know. THANKS. I picked it up at the BEA…they were handing them out. 🙂

    The Silkworm sounds pretty good. THANKS for sharing all of your books. Have a great reading week.

    Nice mailbox.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

