Mailbox Monday 7/7/14

Another busy week! I’ve had loads of fun reading the lists coming out of the Northern Hemisphere for ‘perfect beach reads’, ‘books for hot nights’ and ‘summer sizzlers’. I like it when you guys have summer – I can snuggle under my blanket and call them winter reads! There were also a lot of emails this week about impending releases for the rest of 2014 –big names in the lead up to Christmas, including Ian McEwan, Ken Follett, Jodi Picoult, Monica McInerney and John Cleese. I may have already started a list!

Anyway, about the mailbox. There was one book I was looking for this week, but I’m thinking that some July new releases haven’t reached here yet. Oh well. It’s not like I’m struggling for books to read! In the mailbox though was a book that it buzzing already on social media and the general internet, even though it isn’t released until October. It’s Reluctantly Charmed by Ellie O’Neill. This book has been described as having the ‘humour of Bridget Jones’ and ‘warmth of Monica McInerney’. It’s about Kate and a legacy from a four times great aunt – who also happened to be a witch. There are conditions attached to Kate’s inheritance and as she completes each step, things turn stranger and stranger – can she do it all? Thanks to Simon & Schuster Australia for the eARC – can you see the team’s thoughts on the cover?

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

11 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 7/7/14

Add yours

  1. Reluctantly Charmed does sound good! I’m glad you’re getting some good use out of our summer recommendations 🙂 It’s been so hot here!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑