Mailbox Monday 14/7/14

I really don’t remember too much of the previous week as it was so busy! I do remember that I read a few books that were clever and funny, but I’ll share those with you another day. Today is the day to welcome the new books to the household! It was a good week for me, but maybe not so much for the parcel postie, who came to the house nearly every day! I was hoping to be on holiday this week, but some things are sadly not meant to be.

Let’s get down to business. Can you tell what the first book is from the picture? No? It’s a copy of Harriet Evans’ latest, A Place for Us. As you can see, one of the main characters in the family is Martha and she’ll tear the family apart with deep secrets in the beautiful family home. It’s released in September in Australia/USA and in three parts in the UK starting end of July. Thanks to Hachette Australia and The Reading Room for the copy.

I also received a copy of Claustrophobia by Tracy Ryan to read and review – I’d been looking at this one as it’s set in Western Australia (not as popular a setting as say, New York or London) and it’s been compared to Patricia Highsmith (of The Talented Mr Ripley fame). It’s about a woman who plans to stalk her husband’s ex-lover but ends up having an affair and becoming embroiled in lies herself. It sounds like a great winter read being a psychological thriller (I love dark stories on stormy nights). Thanks to Quikmark Media and Transit Lounge for the copy.

I always enjoy an Australian historical fiction novel (I used to get bagged out at school for liking local history), so I was pleased to see a new book from Johanna Nicholls, The Lace Balcony in the mail. (Thank you to Simon &Schuster!) This is about Fanny, who arrives in New South Wales in 1827 and is transformed into courtesan Vianna Francis. She immediately becomes famous throughout the colony, inspiring rivalry between men but there’s a bitter memory she can’t forget…

Finally, I was lucky enough to win the Sunday Smooch from LoveCats DownUnder (a site of 14 Aussie and Kiwi [New Zealand] romance authors). I have never, ever won a category romance book before so I was thrilled to receive not one, but two books from author Melanie Milburne. The first book, At No Man’s Command, is about the notorious, wild Aiesha who appears to be hiding in Scotland with an aristocratic young man…although isn’t James meant to be her enemy? Sparks are flying everywhere in this sexy romance. The second book, Flirting with the Socialite Doc, is a medical romance (my fave) between an aristocratic GP lying low in the Aussie outback and the caring Zach, who was aiming to look after his father, but now Dr Izzy is getting under his skin… Thank you Melanie and thank you for signing the books too!

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

 

 

14 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 14/7/14

Add yours

  1. Hi Sam,

    I’m with the majority and have earmarked ‘Claustrophobia’ for my reading list.

    I also see that Leslie featured it in ‘Books That Caught Our Eye’ this week, so this is certainly going to be one popular book!

    I hope that you enjoy both it, and all your other new finds this week.

    Yvonne

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

