Mailbox Monday 4/8/14

I’m so glad to see some sun this week. Generally I don’t mind rain, but it’s getting a bit too frequent for my tastes! At least the days are starting to get longer – occasionally I do see a spot of natural light!

My mailbox was a little quieter this week, which I don’t mind (at least it wasn’t stuffed with bills). The first book I received was a prize from Naomi at The Writes of Woman, a copy of Chaplin & Company by Mave Fellowes. Thanks Naomi (the Penguin postcard was gorgeous too). The book is about Odeline Milk, who is going to London to become a Big Name. Buying an old canal boat, she comes into contact with a number of different people, all with their own stories to tell. This looks great fun and a book I haven’t seen on my travels around here. You can read Naomi’s review here.

The second book was one I ordered – Animals by Emma Jane Unsworth. I love the cover of this novel, about two young women having a load of fun going out, partying etc. But then Laura decides to marry Jimmy and that wild life isn’t going to continue…or is it? Tyler plans to sabotage the whole thing… This purchase was inspired after reading Naomi’s review – you can find it here.

Do you make book purchases based on the reviews of other bloggers? What finds have you found in your letterbox lately?

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 4/8/14

Add yours

  1. Thanks for the links, Sam. I hope you like the books.

    As for your question, almost all my purchases these days come from other bloggers or bookish people on Twitter. I don’t know about you but I’ve bought more books since I started blogging than I did before publishers kindly sent me some!

  2. A lot of my reading is influenced by other readers’ reviews! I used to read much more randomly, which had its ups and downs of course!
    And Animals sounds like something that I could enjoy. Will have to check it out!
    Happy reading!

  3. I hope you enjoy your new books. I get many book recs from bloggers but it’s Twitter that does me in 🙂 I’ve purchased more books because of twitter than any other social media. And I’m ok with that 😉

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

