Authors & books I’ll cross the country for…

Last Tuesday, I had two very important jobs to do. The first was to make sure I got on to my aeroplane home on time (I was on holiday in Melbourne, as those who follow my Instagram may have seen by the copious amounts of food pics). The second was perhaps not as vitally important, but it was to me. You see, Tuesday was the 12th August which had long ago been written into my diary, iPhone and brain. What did I need to do that was so special?

Well, I had to buy this book.

I know Haruki Murakami is not everyone’s cup of tea (in fact, several of my friends tease me for reading ‘weird books’) but I really wanted to get my hands on the book ASAP. Not necessarily to read straightaway (I still haven’t read it and probably won’t for another couple of weeks), but I wanted it to be a special memory of my holiday. I’d planned things in advance – I knew which bookshops I could get to within the time period between the stores opening and having to leave for the airport. I’d considered waiting to buy the book at the airport (because they get all the new releases straightaway, don’t they?). I also knew I could just have bought and downloaded the eBook, but I wanted it to be special.

In the end, I went to the bookshop that opened the earliest and bought the book before securing it in my case and flying across Australia. (The airport thing – not a good idea for Murakami. Didn’t see it in the three Melbourne stores I visited and the Perth store. It was interesting the different books the shops stocked and listed as bestsellers on each side of the Nullarbor. But that’s a story for another day). I haven’t even removed the stickers from the inside cover yet, only read the inside covers and set it aside. It’s enough to know that I have this book and that I can read it any time I want.

I was wondering if anyone else is like that with certain books – do you have to have a book on its publication day? Do you go to the lengths that I did, planning your day around its purchase? Or are you happy to pick up the book when you’re next in town? Or pre-order and have sent to your ereader/home address? Or just wait until your number comes up at the library? I would generally say I’m not one to rush out and buy the book ASAP, but for some authors I will. These include Murakami, Rachael Johns, Graeme Simsion and Penny Vincenzi. Who are your ‘rush out and read’ authors?

14 thoughts on “Authors & books I’ll cross the country for…

Add yours

  1. I pre-ordered this book in January, and I’ve been waiting forever for it to arrive. Stupid amazon.com still hasn’t delivered it, though it was released the 12th as you know. Well, I’m glad you have your copy at least!!

    1. You poor thing 😦 I’m glad I was near a good shop, because mail order was another thing I was considering…but then remembered books usually take a week to cross Australia that way. Quicker to do it yourself ;D

  2. Aw you have MADE my weekend, saying I’m one of your ‘rush-out-and-buy’ authors. I’d have to say my main author like this is Liane Moriarty! Man I want to BE that woman when I grow up!! x

  3. I agree with Rachael Johns being a rush out and buy author. I also buy Kathy Reichs, Anna Jacobs, Camilla Lackberg and Victoria Purman.

  4. I have done that for Harry Potter, never anything else. I love your enthusiasm. There’s a readalong going on online I think for this book. If you’re interested, you can check out Dolce Belezza’s blog.

    1. Thanks Nish. Poor Bellezza doesn’t have her book yet 😦 I might read next week and join in.
      I remembered I did it too for Harry Potter! Good times – everybody was sitting around reading.

  5. I couldn’t wait for the Murakami either. I preordered it and it arrived a couple of days later. Haven’t started it yet but I just love holding it

      1. I opened them very carefully to have a look then put them back 🙂 There’s something so very special about this book.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

