Mailbox Monday 8/9/14

Last week passed by in an even more topsy turvy fashion than the previous week! Due to several factors, I didn’t get out to look at books, nor did I get much reading done. Hopefully this week will be back to normal! I did receive some lovely books though. Let’s have a look:

The first was Abbi Glines’ book, Misbehaving. I haven’t read any of her books before (possibly the only one on the planet that falls into that category, according to my quick workplace survey). This is part of the Sea Breeze series and is about bad girl Jess and Jason, brother of a rock star. Neither of them wants anything more than a bit of fun, but love is out of their control… Thanks to Simon & Schuster and The Reading Room for the copy.

I was delighted to find a copy of Monica McInerney’s latest book, Hello from the Gillespies from Penguin Australia and The Reading Room. I love her books and this one is wonderfully heavy! This is a story not surprisingly about the Gillespie family, and the title comes from the first sentence of the Christmas letter Angela sends very year, full of good news. But this year, it’s not wonderfully positive – it’s the truth. The family are falling apart – can they face their lives without Angela to hold it together? This book will be released on 24th September in Australia.

I’ve been following Hachette Australia’s treasure hunt on Twitter for copies of Brooke Davis’ Lost & Found as copies of this book are hidden around Australia. I was really eager when the hunt came to Perth but circumstances forced me from getting out and about! Thanks to the power of Twitter and leg work of Todd, I got my own copy hid very close by to where I was! This was the highlight of a day that was otherwise ordinary. Now, you probably want to know what the book is about…three people, seven year old Millie, 82 year old Agatha and 87 year old Karl the Touch Typist are all lost in their own way. All three are about to break the rules and find out what love and life are all about. I can’t wait to read about how Karl got his name and how he escaped the nursing home!

The last book of the week was from Random House and The Reading Room (message from delivery man – please send more parcels as there is always something interesting being built at this place!), a copy of Arne Dahl’s To the Top of the Mountain (translated by Alice Menzies). With the spring weather suddenly turned gloomy, I’m in the mood for this Swedish crime thriller involving explosives, drugs and murder. This is the third book in the Intercrime series, but the team have been disbanded after a poor result and are now scattered across the country. But are they the only ones to stop what’s about to happen to the country?

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 8/9/14

Add yours

  1. What an extremely kind person Todd from Hatchette is. I will definitely look out for more of their books to purchase. I love Monica McInerny books, so will look out for this one. You have also inspired me to read Lost and Found.

  2. Oh, what lovely books you got! I am definitely adding the McInerney book….and you are not the last person on the planet not having read Abbi Glines…I haven’t either, big surprise. I’ve only recently picked up the occasional YA book to read. Misbehaving looks tempting.

    Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

