Mailbox Monday 22/9/14

Well, the last week passed by in a haze of tiredness and painkillers; this really affected my reading. I’m reading two great books at the moment, but I can’t keep my eyes open long enough to enjoy them! (Plus, the next day I have no recollection of the preceding ten pages that I ‘read’ the night before!) At least one leg is getting very strong, lugging the other around!

Needless to say I didn’t get out too much this week, but I did turn a trip to buy bird seed into a buying opportunity for books (yes, I can buy all those things at one store). This should ‘motivate’ me to rest with my leg up! Cathryn Hein’s Promises is for research J It’s about Sophie and Aaron, horses and a dark secret between their families. I didn’t go through the horse loving phase as a young girl, so I’ll learn plenty here! I’ve always wanted to read Fiona Lowe, so I bought Saved by the Bride, first in the Wedding Fever series. It’s set in Wisconsin, and involves the acting mayor, Annika and Finn, who decide to enjoy a summer fling. Only it might mean something more to Annika…

I also received a final copy of Ellie O’Neill’s debut novel, Reluctantly Charmed (out October). Combining an inheritance with a request to reconnect with Irish folklore, Kate comes into contact with many, many strange things including a witch and life in the public eye. I’m not sure if you can see the sparkly green fairies that surround Kate in the pic, but they’re there, I promise. Thanks to Simon & Schuster for the book.

That’s it for me today. I’m off to find a cup of coffee and put my foot up. But do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

14 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 22/9/14

Add yours

  1. Oh so true… Painkillers make it nearly IMPOSSIBLE for me to both read and go on the computer. I sympathize with you there!
    Pretty book covers, BTW! They at least look promising! –And yes, I DO judge a book by it’s cover!

  2. Oh gosh, I hope your need for painkillers eases as the week goes on. I wouldn’t be able to concentrate (or retain) on reading either. I hope you love all your new books.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

