Mailbox Monday 29/9/14

Yay, a holiday here today! Hopefully I’ll be still asleep as you read this…it’s probably better that I am up and doing a bit of work though! I’ve got quite a few projects on the go which are cluttering my desk and I really feel like cleaning it up. So I need to make a dent in those so I can remove them! I did manage to finish a couple of books over the last week (and they were all wonderful). The lead up to Christmas means it’s Excellent Books Time in Australia, and it’s very, very hard to choose what to read next as all the big name authors are releasing books. I have taken it upon myself to buy several of these books for me, for Christmas and the family can pick and choose which ones they can give me.

As for the books that arrived via the mail, it was a mixed bag this week. I have to say again that I heart my parcel post man. He went to extreme lengths to ensure nothing got wet this week. Thank you! The first book was from Hachette and The Reading Room, a copy of Marilynne Robinson’s Lila. I haven’t read Gilead, but I know it is on the favourite lists of many people. Plus, I’m a sucker for that Virago apple. Lila is a homeless drifter who marries a minister, John. But she struggles to make sense of her earlier days and the difference in their lives. Thank you, this looks interesting and I better stop reading the first chapter now!

I was also a very lucky winner in the ARRA member giveaways last month. My parcel arrived at the end of a really long day, so I’m especially grateful. As I’m attending the convention next year, I’m classing these books as research J The first book is a historical romance, The Winter Bride by Anne Gracie. It’s the second in the Chance Sisters series (you might remember I bought the first book, The Autumn Bride, based on ARRA’s recommendations) and is about rake Freddy and Damaris, who engage in a name-only marriage. But Freddy has other plans…

Road Trip With The Eligible Bachelor by Michelle Douglas sounds like a load of fun. It’s a cross-Australia road trip with Quinn and her boys and politician Aidan with loads of fun and changes over the week of the trip. I’ve done that trip many times, but never with an eligible bachelor! I love the sound of the Aussie setting in this book.

Cathryn Hein seems to be a regular fixture on Mailbox Monday these days! This book is her latest rural romance, Rocking Horse Hill. It’s set in rural Australia and involves Emily and her brother Digby, who run the family property. When Felicity arrives in down, Digby falls in love with her, but Emily has doubts. Still, she won’t let this stand in the way of her brother’s happiness after she destroyed her own relationship. But then a string of events changes the family forever…

After a trek through rain and wind (not recommended in a moon boot when you’re carrying a golf umbrella that is threatening to turn you into Mary Poppins), I was happy to find the latest Michael Connelly book, The Burning Room from Allen & Unwin and The Reading Room. Thank you for the lovely note inside! The Burning Room is the latest Harry Bosch thriller and involves a murder that took nearly ten years to happen (yes, that’s what I meant to type). So while Harry and new detective Lucia have a body, all the clues are cold. I love the unique aspect of this! The book will be released on 3rd November in Australia and US; UK people, you need to wait until 6th November.

One more dash in the rain (well, as fast as you can dash in a moon boot- I’m told I’m pretty good) to grab a copy of Outback Ghost by Rachael Johns. I decided I needed to buy this book in print to gaze at the loveliness of the hero, Adam (who could easily be played by Hugh Jackman if this was a movie). This is the finale in the Bunyip Bay series (Australian rural romance), a place I’m reluctant to leave. Adam’s story focuses on the twenty year anniversary of the disappearance of his sister as Stella and her daughter arrive for a holiday at the cottage on the property. But then the mystery starts to fall apart and Stella wonders if she should forget about the holiday she’s worked to save for and head home. The only problem is she might be in love with Adam… Thank you Rach for the lovely comments and signing my book and the bookmark featuring all the gorgeous men of Bunyip Bay.

That’s it for me today. I’m off to put my foot up and get stuck into some reading (I’ve changed my mind about working). Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 29/9/14

Add yours

  1. Some new and interesting titles this week. If Hugh Jackman were to make that book a movie, I’d have to start reading romances!

    Resting that foot and reading sounds much better than working. 🙂

  2. Oooh, I like your idea of buying the books and letting family members choose which to give you as gifts! I may do that this year 🙂 Enjoy your new books!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

