Mailbox Monday 6/10/14

The last week passed by in a blue – but a nice one. The weather was nice, company was nice and the books were excellent. I ate far too much (I just can’t do two weeks solid of partying) but it was good times. Once again, I was somewhat limited by my fracture (no dashing to shops 10 minutes before closing or dashing in general) but I did get out for a bit in addition to some lovely mail. All my parcels came from the exceptionally kind folk at Simon and Schuster, who I swear peeked in my book wish list notebook!

Trust in Me by Sophie McKenzie is about Livy and Julia, who have always been good friends through thick and thin. But when Julia is supposed to have betrayed Livy, Livy starts digging into her friend’s life to find the truth. But this will tear Livy’s life apart… I love the sound of this thriller! I’m sure that Meg Wolitzer’s Belzhar needs no introduction for many of you, as I remember this book made a lot of good noise at Book Expo America. It’s about a group of teenagers at a special boarding school to heal emotional wounds. In a group called Special Topics in English, they study Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar and write in their diaries. But each time they write, they are transported to the world of Belzhar where they are free of their grief…this sounds like a great book with elements of magical realism. Randy Susan Meyers’ Accidents of Marriage is about a marriage falling apart between Maddy and Ben. Ben is no longer the passionate man she married, but someone she has to tiptoe around to avoid his verbal outbursts. But one day in the car, Ben’s temper goes too far and Maddy ends up critically injured. I look forward to reading this one (released in November) and thinking about the questions this situation raises.

Finally, I bought an armload of Fiona Palmer’s books after reading The Sunnyvale Girls and hearing her speak last weekend. I cleaned out the store of the books of Fiona’s they had!

The Sunburnt Country is about Jonelle, a mechanic and Daniel, a bank manager in a struggling rural town. I know already that things are not going to be easy – each of them have their own problems to manage. Can they fight their attraction to each other too? The Road Home is about Lara, who is doing exceptionally well for herself in the city. Unfortunately, she’s called home to the family farm, which is to be sold. There she meets Jack, a man with a chip on his shoulder and a bitter taste in his mouth when it comes to relationships. Can the pair get along, or will they constantly be at war with each other? The Outback Heart is about a dying rural town. Can Indianna bring the town back to life by enticing a star to the local footy club? Will Troy take a second chance with Indy, or will they both shy away from happiness? I love that these books are all set in my native Western Australia. I can’t wait to read about some familiar settings!

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

10 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 6/10/14

Add yours

  1. Thank for stoping by and checking out my mailbox. I am on my way to answer comments and leaving comments. I hope you come on back to my Nighttime Reading Center blog – where it list in Mailbox monday posts

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

