Mailbox Monday 3/11/14

Wow, where did last week go? I don’t have anything new to report, still working and sleeping with not a lot else. I did get to the shops as you’ll see below, plus the postie dropped by with a win from Allen & Unwin and Goodreads:

As you can see, it’s a new release (December) from Jo Walton, My Real Children. The book sounds like it has a Sliding Doors feel to it (or Life After Life for a bookish likeness) where Patricia’s memory splits in two. Is she Pat, a writer and mother of three? Or Trish, a mum of four and housewife? Which is true? Or is the truth something else entirely? This sounds really good, in fact everyone in the house who saw it expressed interest in reading it!

I also bought three books to keep me entertained when I have a spare moment. After seeing Karin Slaughter speak in Melbourne earlier this year, I’m interested in reading more of her books. Indelible is a story involving Sara Linton, medical examiner and Jeffrey Tolliver, police chief taking a short trip. Unfortunately, things go pear-shaped and a murder is committed. Many years later, that time is about to catch up with them… Alexander McCall Smith’s retelling of Jane Austen’s Emma is very different fare. It appears to be along more conventional lines compared to the other books in The Austen Project, but I’m sure there are some fun tricks here! Finally, Katharine McMahon is an author I enjoy, but don’t see much of here – I picked up Footsteps, about grief and mystery as Helena researches a book on her grandfather. It has a character list too, which is catnip to me!

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 3/11/14

Add yours

  1. Oh, My Real Children is definitely going on my list. Sounds like my kind of read…I have Slaughter’s Cop Town on Sparky…so I might be adding Indelible if I like it. I don’t recall ever reading this author…

    Thanks for visiting my blog, and enjoy your week!

  2. Footsteps looks good. Unless I looked at the wrong book, it looks like the publication date is 1997. Is that correct?

    What’s funny is there were not too many reviews on Amazon. Perhaps because there were not many book bloggers doing reviews at that time??? 🙂

    ENJOY your reading week…they all look quite good.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

