Mailbox Monday 1/12/14

Whoa, December already! At least we’re on the countdown to my birthday now. I had a sad week due to a death in my family, plus other commitments made things quite busy. I did do some cheering book shopping (some in store, some online) so you’ll be seeing the results of that over the next few weeks as they arrive.

I really like the cover of Lisa See’s China Dolls, set in late 1930s and WWII San Francisco. It’s about three women working in a club, all with different backgrounds and all with things to hide. South of Darkness by John Marsden is his first adult book. It’s Australian history from England to Botany Bay, and sounds really good. I loved his YA books growing up. Fiona McIntosh’s Nightingale was recommended to me by a person at work, it’s set in WWI and is a love story filled with loss and mystery. She read it in two days, so it must be good!

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

10 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 1/12/14

Add yours

  1. Glad books were a solace this week. So sorry to hear that you’ve lost a loved one. I agree the cover of China Dolls is fantastic, and Nightingale caught my eye too. Hope this is a better week for you. *hugs*

  2. So sorry about your loss…and I’m glad you found some lovely books to cheer you…I love the look of China Doll, and I’m curious about Nightingale. I am reading The Nightingale, by Kristin Hannah, also about WWII…Hmm.

    Thanks for sharing and enjoy, and here are MY WEEKLY UPDATES

  3. I listened to China Dolls and didn’t love it. I think it might have been the narration, though, because it was hard to tell the characters apart. I hope you end up loving it!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

