Mailbox Monday 8/12/14

This mailbox sees the result of all my online shopping! I hope to have a bit more time to read this week – the calm before the Christmas storm of parties, breakfasts, lunches and dinners (99% of them I know I’ll enjoy though). There are still a couple of books on my must-buy list which I hope to track down in the next couple of weeks.

The first arrival was from Booktopia, a desperate need to know what happens in Michael Connelly’s The Drop after I had to return the audiobook to the library. I bought The Harry Bosch Novels Volume 5, which also has two other Bosch books, The Overlook and Nine Dragons. The Drop is about a DNA match for a murder where the killer was only a boy and an apparent suicide; The Overlook is about the murder of physicist and a lethal chemical on the loose and Nine Dragons is about an underworld murder. I can’t wait to get back into Bosch’s world!

The next lot was my Bookworld order. I’ve wanted to read more Colm Toibin since Brooklyn; Nora Webster is also set in 1960s Ireland but is about a widow with four children, starting again to find hope in her life. Not only is Neil Patrick Harris a gifted actor since Doogie Howser, but his autobiography appeals in that it’s written as a Choose Your Own Adventure format! Naturally, it’s called Choose Your Own Autobiography. Finally, who could resist Amy Poehler’s Yes Please after the great reviews and words of wisdom (e.g. Short people do not like to be picked up)? Not me.

Finally, I had a Book Depository discount code and stocked up on a bargain and an interesting looking book. The bargain was Beryl Bainbridge’s A Quiet Life (the cover makes me so hungry). It’s a slim book about teenager Alan, living at home post WWII and in the middle of several family dramas. Charlie LeDuff’s Detroit An American Autopsy looks at the downfall of Detroit. I enjoy reading about Detroit in terms of urb ex (urban exploration) and its powerful motoring days and I want to know how this all happened.

In case you’re wondering why I didn’t buy all these from one place – well, I’m a sucker for packages and book buying is my crack – needs to be done often and I need to share the love between my suppliers!

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

15 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 8/12/14

Add yours

  1. I’ll be interested in hearing what you have to say about Charle Laduff’s book. In my opinion, he’s the best local Detroit reporter we have. I really enjoy watching him on TV.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

