Mailbox Monday 29/12/14: The Secret Santa edition

Those of you that follow me on Instagram may have noticed a serious pile of books in my Christmas sack. It seems that people really like it when you can suggest something that’s easy obtainable and easy to wrap! I’ve decided to break things up a bit in the coming Mailbox Mondays as I also have my birthday on the way, so today I’m going to focus on my Secret Santa gifts. I participated in two book Secret Santas this year, run by ARRA and LibraryThing (also known as SantaThing). I really like book Secret Santa things (I’ve gone off the work ones after receiving a tea towel one year). You get exposed to some fantastic new authors!

The first gift I received was from Tiffany through ARRA. She was super organised and the parcel arrived in plenty of time for Christmas. Inside was a parcel of super-awesomeness:

Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie is an often-recommended contemporary romance title about Min, Cal and a dinner to win a bet that takes a twist when Fate intervenes to have them meet again. Karen Rose’s Don’t Tell is about Caroline, whose hidden past is revealed and she needs to decide whether to run or fight. The best part of this is that Karen Rose has signed it, to me! Awesome!! Finally, Julie Garwood’s Honor’s Splendor is a historical romance set in England, 1099 involving lords, ladies and a feuding court. Thank you Tiffany for the wonderful breadth of romance books!

My lovely Secret Santa for LibraryThing was normandie_m – who I had picked out books for several years ago! How lovely that we were paired together the opposite way this year J I think her choices show how diverse my reading genres are. The first book is an Inspector O mystery, A Corpse in the Koryo by Janes Church. The story is set in North Korea and involves long-ago murders, which Inspector O now finds himself in the middle of. Banana Yoshimoto
is a Japanese author I really need to read. Hardboiled and Hard Luck are two stories that are different, but involve themes of moving on and hope. Paul Morley’s Earthbound is one of the Penguin novels to celebrate 150 years of the London Tube (in this case it’s the Bakerloo line). It’s a tale of brown, Walkmans, post-punk and other observations. Thank you for the thoughtful choices normandie_m!

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 29/12/14: The Secret Santa edition

Add yours

  1. Great books! I haven’t read a Julie Garwood book in a while but I remember loving them. I have a birthday coming up in the next month too so I’m looking forward to more new books!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

