10 Favourite Reads from 2014

I know that ‘best of’ ‘top 10/50/100’ lists have been kicking around the internet since before Christmas, but I’ve chosen the last day of the year to share with you ten books I read in 2014 that have left a lasting impression. It’s also my birthday today so I can do whatever I want. Thank you to the authors, publishers and fellow readers/bloggers who have provided me with hundreds of hours of entertainment in 2014 (as well as a few teary moments). In no particular order, here are my memorable reads (click on the picture to go to the original review):

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

a fantastically written book with memorable characters and incredible discussion of race and class across the world’.

Outback Blaze by Rachael Johns

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘always brilliantly crafted, with realistic characters and a plot that demands you to sit down and find out what happens!’

I, Migrant by Sami Shah

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘When a book makes you laugh on the first page, you know you’re on to a winner.’

Someone Like You by Victoria Purman

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘a tightly written plot that contains heartbreak, demons of the past and some wonderfully happy moments.’

Hello From the Gillespies by Monica McInerney

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘not afraid of the tearjerker ending…or doing her characters some damage.’

Being Jade by Kate Belle

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘If you like Tim Winton, I strongly suggest you read Being Jade.’

We Are Called to Rise by Laura McBride

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘Sometimes, you find a book that is all-consuming. Even when you’re not reading it, a part of your mind is still thinking about it…’

Hero Duty by Jenny Schwartz

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘I loved it. Everything was in perfect proportion…’

My Real Children by Jo Walton

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘…looks like an innocent book, but boy does it pack a punch between its pages!’

The Undertaking by Audrey Magee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

‘It’s hard to believe this is Audrey Magee’s first novel’

Apologies to those who missed out, my first draft sat at 26 books!

Have you read any of these books? What are your top reads for 2014?

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

