You Were Mine by Abbi Glines

In brief: The ninth book in the Rosemary Beach series focuses on Tripp and his secret love for Bethy stemming from a teenage relationship. Bethy is distraught after the death of Jace and won’t have a bar of Tripp. Can he change her mind?

The good: Oh, the angst.

The not-so-good: The angst!

Why I chose it: I’m possibly one of the last five people in the world to read an Abbi Glines novel, thanks to Simon & Schuster for the ARC.

Year: 2014

Pages: 239 (ARC)

Publisher: Atria Books (Simon & Schuster)

Setting: America

My rating: 6 out of 10 (note if I’d read this in my teenage years, I would have given this 10 out of 10)

Abbi Glines has been on the edge of my reading radar for a long time, but I haven’t picked up any of her books until now. She’s the author that got some of my friends into reading, which has to be a good thing. Thanks to Simon & Schuster, I received an ARC of You Were Mine, the ninth book in the Rosemary Beach series. I kind of felt like the new kid walking into a party where she knows absolutely no-one with this book. All the characters knew each other for years and years, and had backstory that I would never learn.

Actually, that’s a lie because with the beauty of the internet, I was all caught up in 15 minutes. So now you can think of me as the new kid, in the corner on the smartphone stalking all these characters. Now I can tell you that this is the story of Bethy and Tripp (all the characters have out-there names – Blaire, Harlow, Rush, Woods, London – for this girl who grew up in a field of Sarahs, Michelles, Chrises and Michaels). Bethy used to go out with Jace, but Jace died. Bethy and Tripp had a thing going when she was a teenager that nobody knew about. Now Tripp is back in Rosemary Beach, ready to look after Bethy but Bethy ain’t gonna play ball. She’s hurt, but she wants Tripp. Tripp wants her.

There is serious, serious angst here people. Sexual frustration drips from the page so much that you’ll have to read this with a towel.

There are numerous flashbacks to when Tripp and Bethy got together, told from first person point of views. This alternates with the present day, so we go from love-hate-love and back again. In between, there’s a wedding and the very cute baby, Lila Kate (not Bethy and Tripp’s child, BUT there is a big mix up of the abortion that may or may not have happened and mega-guilt on board. Which just makes everything more angsty and sexually frustrating all over again).

I would have adored this book in my late teens/early twenties. I would have devoured the series in between classes and stalked the shelves on release day. But now that I’m older, I want more from my stories. Abbi Glines totally gets the anguish of young love – the hurt and lost sleep and the joyous feel of ‘he likes me TOO!’ But this book wasn’t for me – I want more drama that ‘he loves me/loves me not’. I’m also happy I survived that part of my life but I’m not willing to revisit that time yet! I’m prepared to try another book (I also have Misbehaving, part of the Sea Breeze series) to see what that’s like.

Abbi Glines, I wish you’d been writing these when I was an undergrad. I would have defended your characters to the death and reread series instead of studying. But… I got old and boring. So it’s not you, it’s me. I’m officially uncool.

One thought on “You Were Mine by Abbi Glines

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

