Mailbox Monday 5/1/15: Mega Christmas Edition (with birthday extra)

As promised last week, I’m sharing with you my Christmas books. Yes, it is quite huge, but the people who bought them for me know that: a) it is a certainty that the book will be passed to them after I’ve read it; b) people like being able to buy off a list, it’s quick and easy and c) I didn’t receive much else. In fact, I didn’t receive any books for my birthday last week!

So what is this birthday extra I hear you ask? I was lucky enough to win a prize from LoveCats DownUnder. The lovely Louisa George let me choose a book from her back catalogue in addition to the book I won, and it arrived on my birthday! The books are A Baby on Her Christmas List, which is about Georgie, a nurse wanting a baby. Her best friend, Liam has offered to be the father, but by doing this extra feelings come into play… The Last Doctor She Should Ever Date interested me because the heroine is a physiotherapist and the story is about a rugby team – and their arrogant team doctor. Thanks Louisa!

Are you ready for the Christmas pile? While I do love showing off all the covers, I thought that I shouldn’t attempt to break the internet so it’s the spines only pic I showed on Instagram earlier. Last week I talked about the wonderful Secret Santa presents (the Karen Rose, Paul Morley, Banana Yoshimoto, James Church, Julie Garwood and Jennifer Crusie), so let’s move down the pile.

House of Karls by Dr Karl Kruszelnicki is the latest of his science books covering all sorts of questions from the five second rule to sleep theories and benefits of various teas. It’s written in a very easy to read fashion plus I love that he includes his references for further reading. Edge of Eternity by Ken Follett is the final book in the Century trilogy, following the families we’ve come to know from the previous books. It’s also over 1000 pages! Michael Palin is back with more diaries, Travelling to Work that covers the time period of his many of his travel programmes. Plus I am going to see him LIVE soon!

Now on to the cookbooks. Many people know Matt Preston from Australian Masterchef, but I really like his cookbooks. They’re simple and unpretentious and Cook Book is no exception. (Although I wish he’d chosen comfort foods other than Spam. I don’t like Spam!)* The Hairy Bikers’ Asian Adventure by Si King and Dave Myers was a great TV show and the recipes are easy to follow with obtainable ingredients. Jamie Oliver’s Comfort Food is just that – yummy food that won’t break the bank (or your trousers).

Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham I’ve already finished. Beyond that retro cover is a series of witty and true observations about life. It’s brilliant. The Postcard by Leah Fleming has two plot threads running – 1930s London and current day Australia. When a family secret is revealed, Melissa must find who Desmond is and what the link is with the past. Becky Brandon is back for more Shopaholic fun in Shopaholic to the Stars. This time she’s in Hollywood attempting a career as a celebrity stylist. I’ve got a soft spot for Becky, especially since I won a Shopaholic competition several years ago! Shaun Micallef is the King of Australian satire and my hero. The President’s Desk, the history of the United States and their presidents (perhaps) promises to be surreal and witty. The Rosie Effect by Graeme Simsion is a book I can’t wait to read (like most of the world), following on from The Rosie Project. This time Rosie is pregnant – what will that do to Don’s ordered life? The Secret Place by Tana French not only has a cool cover (a ransom-style sticky note) but promises to be eerie, following a murder and that note appearing in an unlikely place. The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell blends fiction with alternate history, the supernatural and crime. It’s a bit out of my comfort zone, but I’m going to give it a go. Finally, Sarah Waters’ The Paying Guests is going to be stellar, set in 1920s London and dealing with class, secrets and desire.

Phew! I’m going to be rather busy here! What did you receive under the tree or in your letterbox this week?

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

 

 

 

*Spot the Monty Python reference.

13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 5/1/15: Mega Christmas Edition (with birthday extra)

Add yours

  1. Hi Sam,
    ‘Merry Christmas’, ‘Happy New Year’ and ‘Many Happy Returns Of The Day’ … Now, have I missed out any more celebrations? 😉

    You certainly have a great haul of books and I can see at least three which caught my eye straightaway …. the Karen Rose, Sarah Waters and Leah Fleming titles all look good to me!

    Have fun choosing which order to read them all in and have a good week.

    Yvonne 🙂

  2. Fantastic books in your mailbox. I love getting books esp. from a list of ones I haven’t read 🙂 I’m going to look up the Jamie Oliver book. Happy New Year!

  3. Wow, what a bonanza of books! Sometimes having a birthday so close to Christmas is not so good, but you did pretty well.

    I had sort of given up on the Shopaholic series, but Shopaholic to the Stars sounds like a nice twist, and not as repetitive as some of the other books. Thanks for sharing.

    And thanks for visiting my blog.

  4. That big stack of books made me smile! Not sure where I’d start first – there are so many good choices. I just finished The Paying Guests – I didn’t know anything about the story before I read it and – wow – it went off in an unexpected direction.

  5. Your Christmas haul is awesome! I saw the Ken Follet book, I really need to finish out that series. I read the first one and loved it but never made it to second one. Happy Reading, your pile should keep you busy for a while!

  6. So many books! The only one I’ve these I have is Shopaholic to the Stars, which I actually really enjoyed. Although I’d love a copy of Jamie Oliver’s Comfort Food as well. Happy reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

