Mailbox Monday 19/1/15

I really don’t know what to say about the previous week – it was similar to the one before (busy busy busy)! A couple of things have wound down but others look to be stepping up a notch or three. What will be will be! Thank goodness for a full letterbox which means I don’t need to worry about reading material!

First up is a copy of Amy Andrews’ latest Harlequin medical romance, It Happened One Night Shift. This was a win after filling out a very interesting reading tastes survey on Love is the Best Medicine. Plus Amy signed it – thank you! The book is set in the emergency department (or ER/A&E) with a female doctor heroine and nurse hero. What happens on night shift looks to be much more exciting than my personal experience with a hot kiss sparking a relationship!

clip_image002

Allen & Unwin and The Reading Room were so kind that they soothed my overworked soul with not one, but three books this week. All are Aussie March releases, but I don’t know if I can wait that long to read them. First up is the much anticipated new book from Kazuo Ishiguro, The Buried Giant. It’s about a couple who go looking for a lost son and meet revenge, war, love and lost memories. Bad Behaviour by Rebecca Starford is a memoir of boarding school and the bullying, friendship and rapid swings between the two that take place. The Iron Necklace by Giles Waterfield is historical fiction, set at the outbreak of war and following two families through it and its aftermath. Irene is an outcast in Germany, while Sophia is a war nurse. Mark flits between countries in diplomatic service, but can they all find their way in this new world?

clip_image004

The Two of Us by Andy Jones was a delightful surprise from Simon & Schuster. The blurb states this book is perfect ‘for fans of One Day, Me Before You and The Rosie Project’ so I’m almost certain it will work for me! It’s about Fisher and Ivy, who are going to be together forever despite being together for 19 days. What happens over the next 12 months will be a complete change… This book will be released in Australia in February.

clip_image006

Finally, Attraction by K.M. Golland was a win from Harlequin Australia’s 12 Days of Christmas Instagram competition. This book definitely had the buffest cover 😉 This is about Carly, who lives a life free from worries. That is until she meets Derek, who starts to change her mind about a lot of things… The book features characters from the author’s previous Temptation series.

clip_image008

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

Advertisements

13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 19/1/15

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: