Mailbox Monday 23/2/15

The last week was a repeat of the one before and the one before that…work and sleep, work and sleep! I’m looking forward to the long weekend next week. I’m going to read…and sleep!

Thanks to Simon & Schuster, I received two lovely books in the mail. As I’m not getting out and about much (social interactions limited to murmurings between bites of lunch), reading before bed has become my one guilty pleasure!

Inside the O’Briens is Lisa Genova’s latest novel (due out in April). It’s about Joe, a policeman in his forties who starts having a few odd symptoms…involuntary movements, short temper…which leads to a diagnosis of Huntington’s disease. Suddenly, his life and that of his family are changed. Which of his children want to know if they have the disease? Would it be better not to know? This book sounds like it will be very powerful and well researched (did you know Lisa Genova is a neuroscientist?).

Claiming Noah by Amanda Ortlepp will be released in March. It is about two couples, one who receive an anonymous embryo and the other, who donates an embryo. But Catriona is affected by postnatal depression and psychosis, and Diana’s little boy Noah is abducted. What’s going on? Most importantly, where is Noah? This book sounds like I need to read it all in one go!

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

14 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 23/2/15

Add yours

  1. I hear ya about reading before bed- I wish that reading didn’t make me so sleepy! Inside the O’Brien’s sounds really good. I still need to read Still Alice! Have a good week, Sam 🙂

  2. I still read any time during the day that I can. I can relate to the work and sleep syndrome though. Except I would add writing reviews and blogging to that schedule to make it complete. 🙂

  3. I’ve just realised your emails have been floating off into my junk box, I must fix that. Both books look very good. I have loved Lisa Genova’s other books.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑