Top 10 Commute Audiobooks with Audible Australia

You may have noticed the odd audiobook review creeping on to Sam Still Reading lately. I used to read a lot on public transport, but now my commute is shorter if I drive. Unfortunately, this meant no reading. But the upside is that I can listen to audiobooks. Audiobooks also have the benefit of having the story read much more dramatically than you would in your head! After nearly six months of audiobook listening, I can honestly say that I love it – it’s the next best thing to reading. It’s the opportunity to escape from the daily grind while still being in the protective bubble of your car. You can choose to be entertained, learn something new or escape to something completely different. Here are 10 audiobooks that I think would make incredible listening and pull you out of the humdrum of the daily commute (click on the pic for the audiobook link to Audible Australia):  

1. Not That Kind of Girl by Lena Dunham

I loved reading this book and Lena Dunham narrates the audiobook! This girl just plain gets it.  

2. Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman

I’ve just finished this book, and boy did it blow me away! Gritty, sad and funny.  

3. Bossypants by Tina Fey

It’s Tina Fey read by Tina Fey! Guaranteed awesome.  

4. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

If you’re going to listen on the train, you may as well read about an interesting, creepy commute!  

5. The First Bad Man by Miranda July

This book has been getting so many good reviews – it sounds quirky, crude and a little out there.  

6. The Rosie Project by Graeme Simsion

Because everyone needs a little time with Prof Don Tillman – great for cheering you up.  

7. The Drop by Michael Connelly

Len Cariou is one of the best narrators I’ve heard – he really brings Harry Bosch to life in this crime thriller.  

8. An Astronaut’s Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield

Listen to what the astronaut who enchanted us with pictures from space has to say about life on and off the planet.  

9. Stand-In Star by Rachael Johns

Enjoy a little bit of romance with one of Australia’s favourite authors.  

10. Looking for Trouble by Victoria Dahl

This is a hot romance with added family drama – just be careful at what part of the audio you wind your window down! Sound good? Let me know what your favourite commute listens are. Oh, and Audible has the top 100 wished for books on sale for $8.99 until March 1st. Think Outlander, Gone Girl, Amy Poehler, Bill Bryson…

7 thoughts on “Top 10 Commute Audiobooks with Audible Australia

Add yours

  1. I’m reading Girl on the Train now as an audiobook while driving! I don’t catch public transport as much as I used to, so audiobooks have become a staple for me 🙂 much better than mindless radio when you’re stuck in Sydney traffic! I use Audible.com though, coz I found the range and prices were better.

      1. I always picture Perth to be full of those huge mining trucks! The population is going up really fast there, isn’t it? I’ve heard of loads of Brits moving to Perth recently.
        I love them! I feel productive and sane! But then I don’t want to get out of my car before I finish the chapter 😉

      2. Oh Perth can be full of those – on the back of another truck and moving really, really slowly.The city is huge now – it’s not unusual to live 50km + from the CBD as this is where most of the new housing is! It’s good though, people are starting to realise there’s a city here!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

