Mailbox Monday 9/3/15

See, I did go shopping last week! I had a shopping spree in my local Dymocks with my birthday/gift vouchers plus some of my hard earned cash. I think I got value from my dollar here – what do you think?

I had seen Quick Reads on Twitter lately – but I didn’t think that they would end up in Australia! While Rules for Dating a Romantic Hero by Harriet Evans didn’t come with any chocolate, I was pleasantly surprised at the Aussie price. It was very close to the exchange rate! The book looks delightful – it’s about Laura, an everyday girl who meets super romantic hero Nick. Can the two make it despite their differing backgrounds? Adele Parks’ Spare Brides has been on my wish list since its initial release. Set in the 1920s, it about a group of women alone after World War I. When Edgar Trent arrives on the scene, all bets are off… East End Angel by Kay Brelland is part of the Campbell Road series, but it looks like it can be read as a standalone book. Kathy is a midwife, but her twin Jennifer is involved with crime and prostitution. When Kathy gets involved after a woman is beaten, Jennifer’s secrets are in danger of being exposed.

I also bought two larger format paperbacks (this is the standard size that new releases come in). Twitter went mad over Judy Chicurel’s If I Knew You Were Going to Be This Beautiful I Never Would Have Let You Go last year and this was the first time I’d seen it in the shops in Australia. It’s set in 1970s summertime on Long Island and is about the issues a group of friends face – drugs, the Vietnam War and abortion. Lucy Foley’s The Book of Lost and Found has a pretty gold and black cover and three narrative strands spanning Paris, Hertfordshire and London from 1928 to 1986, encompassing a great love.

Have you read any of these? What was in your mailbox last week?

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 9/3/15

Add yours

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

