Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott

In brief: What happens in Vegas stays in Vegas – unless you happen to wake up married to one of the hottest rock stars in the world. Welcome to Evelyn’s life.

The good: It’s different to the books I’ve read recently – youthful and decadent.

The not-so-good: I must be getting old because sometimes Evelyn’s choices just seemed rather…young to me.

Why I chose it: Bought this book ages ago, but then won a signed set!

Year: 2013 (ebook), 2014 (paperback)

Pages: 304

Publisher: Pan Macmillan

Setting: USA

My rating: 7.5 out of 10

Lick, like many other books, has been circling around the edge of my radar for quite some time. I remember hearing on the Twitter-sphere a lot of good noise about it and thinking it sounded interesting. Then, it appeared in paperback and I bought a copy. Then I saw a competition to win the first three books in the series and winning in pushed me over the edge to reading it. Because it was pretty and kindly signed by Kylie Scott – thank you! It takes a lot these days to get me out of my rural romance comfort zone, but Lick introduced me to a new, hot thing in romance – the rock star. I’m not sure why this hasn’t been a hot topic before. I mean, loads of us watched rage and Video Hits (or even SBS Pop Asia), right? Didn’t we fantasise about marrying someone from New Kids on the Block/Backstreet Boys/Take That/N*SYNC/One Direction? This is that book come to life for grown-ups.

Lick is the first in the series about a hugely successful band, Stage Dive. (They’re definitely more hard core than the boy bands I’ve listed above though). The first book is about guitarist David (lick refers to a series of notes, not anything dirty or about vampires) and his love life which gets off to a pretty quick start when he marries college student Evelyn in Las Vegas one night. As you do, but Stage Dive are a pretty intense band. There’s politics, writer’s block in relation to songwriters and some pretty heavy stuff going down. Evelyn was there to have fun and hopefully get laid. She doesn’t even really know this guy’s name (she’s not into the band). Things get pretty crazy very quickly and David is supremely annoyed that she was too drunk to remember a thing. The quickest thing to do is get the marriage annulled and return to their separate lives, right? But the pair are not really sure if they want that and a push-pull situation between them occur. Could they be good together? Or will forces separate their lives back into their respective boxes?

I liked the idea of this book – who hasn’t dreamt of waking up from your normal life into a rich world of excess? Kylie Scott illustrates just how difficult that can be – suddenly paparazzi are chasing Evelyn and she’s getting whisked around in helicopters. Whatever David wants, he gets and he’s not terribly used to the word no. I appreciated Evelyn’s strength in standing up to him. Sometimes though I felt she was a bit immature and rash in her dealings (yes, I am the girl with the Plan!) but I think that was more due to her age and inexperience rather than a flaw. Evelyn did get on my nerves a bit, especially when she decided just to work in the coffee shop for the rest of her life – occasionally you do need to face things you don’t like and make painful decisions! David did have some possessiveness that I didn’t find appealing – was this a result of his privileged status? Eventually, I grew to like him but I don’t think he’ll be my favourite Stage Dive member – I really liked Mal, he seemed calmer and more mature. (But I bet he’s got demons that will be revealed in the next book).

This was a pleasant, easy read. It’s well written and avoids the Mary-Sue type that sometimes first person romance can fall into. I didn’t quite want to jump into the next book straightaway (I’m craving diversity in my reading at the moment likely secondary to a romance overdose) but I’ll definitely continue reading the series. I want to read about the redemption of the other bad boys of Stage Dive and I want to see what crazy situations Kylie Scott puts them into next.

3 thoughts on “Lick (Stage Dive #1) by Kylie Scott

  1. Looking at the cover of this book it isn’t one I would select. However after reading the review I’ve changed my mind. Thanks Sam.

  2. I enjoyed this book though like you, I’m not ready to jump onto the next book. I loved Scott’s Flesh / Skin though -prefer these post-apocalyptic ones 😉

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

