Mailbox Monday 20/4/15

Another eventful week, it seems I spent 50% of it on the phone and the other 50% writing emails! I did get the chance to go book shopping, things were a bit rushed but I grabbed three books. Welcome to the new books to enter my shelves:

The Soldier’s Wife by Pamela Hart was from Hachette Australia and The Reading Room. It’s an Australian story set during World War I and focuses on life on the home front. With ANZAC Day this Saturday, it’s a poignant read.

I bought two of the Penguin Little Black Classics. At $2AUD (that’s less than half the price of a cup of coffee in the West); it’s a great idea to entice people to try short reads from classic authors. I bought Miss Brill by Katherine Mansfield, three short stories about loneliness and vanity and The Beautifull Cassandra by Jane Austen, early stories written as a teenager. There are 80 in the series and I have my eye on others by Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Jonathan Swift, Elizabeth Gaskell, Edith Wharton and Emily Bronte. I plan to sneak off somewhere quietly one lunchtime to read them!

I also found one of the books from the Baileys Prize longlist that I want to read, Aren’t We Sisters? by Patricia Ferguson. It’s set in the 1930s and about three women in Cornwell with a killer on the loose. Even though the book didn’t make it on to the shortlist, I’m eager to read it as the Baileys Prize lists have helped me find many great reads over the years.

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 20/4/15

Add yours

  1. I didn’t know about Penguin’s Little Black Book series, so thanks for telling about that. Also, I so want to read for the Bailey prize some year (when I’m not reading for the IFFP). I’ll aim for 2016.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

