Mailbox Monday 27/4/15

Morning all! It’s a public holiday here today (for ANZAC Day, particularly poignant as it was 100 years since the ANZAC forces landed at Gallipoli). I’m hoping to get out and do a bit of shopping if the shops I want to visit are open. What will I be buying? Books, of course! I didn’t get out last week, so I’m looking forward to it. Thankfully, my mailbox was nice and full last Friday.

That scary looking book on the left is The Killing Lessons by Saul Black (it’s okay, it’s fiction). Thanks to Hachette Australia for the prize. It’s a thriller involving a serial killer where the detectives are at their wit’s end, but there is hope in a young girl who survived the attack. The new Sara Gruen book, At the Water’s Edge, was a prize from the lovely cake-eating folk at Allen & Unwin and Goodreads. You might be able to get a hint of what the book is about by looking at the bottom left corner…no? Well, it’s about a disgraced couple who leave the US in the 1940s to look for the biggest prize in Scotland, the Loch Ness Monster. The country is hit hard by the aftermath of World War II, but Maddie begins to find friendship in the remote village amongst the dark forces at work.

Do stop in at the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find something you want to read, as well as more great books!

 

10 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 27/4/15

Add yours

  1. I’ve read a synopsis of At the Water’s Edge and look forward to reviews. I’ve enjoyed a few of her books but not sure about diving into this. Have a good week and enjoy your day off – a very solemn reason for the holiday.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

