Mailbox Monday 18/5/15

Hello, I’m back after a week break for a blog tour! Sadly my mailbox has been empty all that time, but it didn’t stop me from going on a hunt for the books I wanted! As you can see from the picture below, I got the two books I’d been wanting desperately (A God in Ruins and The Falls) plus the bonus of Testament of Youth, which I found on a reduced to clear table! (Excuse the gloomy picture, it’s been raining non-stop all this weekend).

Testament of Youth by Vera Brittain
is an autobiography of the First World War, where she was a nurse. I have no idea why it was discounted (perhaps people baulk when they see the size of it – 612 pages – after seeing the movie?) but I’m glad to have it!

Kate Atkinson’s A God in Ruins
is probably THE release of the book world this month. A ‘companion’ novel to Life After Life, it tells the story of Teddy, Ursula’s brother who isn’t reborn over and over.

The Falls by Cathryn Hein
is her latest release about Teagan, who moves to the Falls Valley after family drama. Life is good for Teagan there, until tension reaches a crescendo in the small town over politics and gossip. Will Teagan’s life be ruined again?

What did you receive this week?

Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find heaps more exciting mailboxes!

17 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 18/5/15

Add yours

  1. I enjoyed reading ‘Life after Life.’ The idea didn’t appeal to me but once I started reading I was surprised. I will have to check out her new book.
    You often find the very best books on the discounted pile, I’m not sure why. Perhaps people don’t like the cover, or the blurb. Or maybe it is the only one left. Enjoy reading ‘Testament of Youth’ it sounds like a good read.

  2. I read ToY about two months ago because I wanted to read it before seeing the movie. The writing is gorgeous and the story is heart-breakingly sad, but I’m so glad I read it.

  3. Great haul! I have the Brittain book with a different cover, though still unread. It is huge though 🙂 Really curious about the Atkinson since I recently read Life after Life. Happy reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

