10 Domestic Thrillers to Keep You up All Night

As I’ve mentioned earlier this week, I’m becoming a big fan of domestic noir, or domestic thrillers. These are thrillers that are close to home (or are at home) These are some of my favourites so far (click on the cover to read my review):

Sophie Hannah’s Spilling CID stories

Yes, they involve police but they are also told from the victim’s POV. (It’s also perfectly OK to read them out of order).

Before We Met by Lucie Whitehouse

Nothing is as it seems in this marriage…

Beneath the Shadows by Sara Foster

A lost husband, a tiny village – who knows the secrets it hides?

Shuichi Yoshida

Translated from the Japanese, his books are about everyday people in Japan – except somebody usually has a deadly secret…

You by Caroline Kepnes

After this book, you’ll never engage in conversation at a shop in the same way… (Kepnes also has a new book, Hidden Bodies, out this September!)

Orient by Christopher Bollen

An outsider in a small village, a creepy mutant creature and a killer…this is one scary winter coming up!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And of course, you’ve all read it, but Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn is right up there too.

What other books would you include under domestic noir/thriller? I’d love to hear your recommendations.

6 thoughts on “10 Domestic Thrillers to Keep You up All Night

  1. I’ve read a number of them as I love this gene too. I think I’ve mentioned the following author to you before but I think if you loved ‘Before We Met’ you won’t go wrong with Lucy Clarke’s ‘A Single Breath’. Mostly set in Tassie, that was a 5 star read for me (as was Before We Met).

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

