Mailbox Monday 15/6/15

I found out last week that one of my favourite bookshops in Perth, Dymocks Hay St was closing down. Their last day was yesterday and it was very sad to see them go. Next week I’ll share my final spend-up there but for now, let’s talk about the mailbox.

I was very lucky to win two prizes from Goodreads. The first was from Text PublishingThe Underwriting by Michelle Miller
is about a Wall Street bank that launches the public offering for a dating app, Hook. It appears all about sex and power on the surface, but there’s a lot about identity and female roles too. I’m nearly halfway through this book (thanks Text for the late nights!). Once Lost by Ber Carroll – thanks Ber for the win – is set in Sydney and Australia. It’s about two best friends who have their own problems – a lost mother and a troublesome ex. Will things ever improve, or will the truth destroy them?

The Book of Speculation by Erika Swyler
was from Allen & Unwin and The Reading Room. It’s about Simon, a librarian who finds a journal from the 1700s at his door. It appears to be linked to his family and he must stop the curse before it strikes again. This book is released in August in Australia, but I think some lucky countries may have it out already. I’m looking forward to this – thank you!

The kind folk at Hachette helped to feed my domestic noir habit with I Let You Go by Clare Mackintosh. It’s about Jenna, who moves to a remote cottage in Wales after a tragic accident. Things look to be settling down but her past is about to catch up with her… I’m looking forward to reading this one on a stormy night!

Finally, I indulged and bought myself Sophie Kinsella’s YA debut, Finding Audrey. Audrey stays in the house all day and night with her glasses on. She doesn’t leave. But then Linus comes into her life and he plans to entice her out – to Starbucks (it’s a start). Don’t you love the cover?

What did you receive or purchase this week? Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

13 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 15/6/15

  1. Aww sorry your fave bookstore is closing 😦 Congrats on your Goodreads wins! I’ve only ever won one book in six years! Finding Audrey sounds really cute, and I’ve been eyeing The Book of Speculation. Happy reading!

  2. What a devastating thing to happen. I do hope there is another bookstore that you will be able to haunt. I like the sound of The Book of Speculation, I will be looking out for this one.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

