Mailbox Monday 22/6/15: The end of an era – and the start of a new one

Remember last week I told you that one of my favourite bookshops in Perth, Dymocks Hay Street was closing down? I received some great news from Dymocks last week – the store will be reopening (as a company store rather than franchised) early next month, in the same place! I was so happy to read that news and it just goes to show that people power can do good things!

So I suppose if this is my haul from the closing down sale, I’ll have to repeat it for the reopening sale, right?

Ruby by Cynthia Bond is about a girl returning home to Texas from New York and the man who loves her. All Involved by Ryan Gattis is set in L.A. during the 1992 riots, told from a number of different perspectives. The Winter Garden by Jane Thynne is set in Berlin, 1937 and is about Nazi Bride Schools and a British Intelligence Officer. Girl at War by Sara Novic is set during the Bosnian-Croat conflict and a girl’s escape to America. When she returns, nothing is the same. Renee Knight’s Disclaimer is about a novel that contains the reader’s darkest secret… Upstairs at the Party by Linda Grant is set in the early 1970s, about one night that haunts Adele long after the event. The Truth and Other Lies by Sascha Arango is about an author who is in trouble with the women in his life – his plan may just be the unravelling of all of them. Villa America by Liza Klaussmann is a glamourous 1920s novel full of parties and fun until a young pilot joins their group. Some Luck by Jane Smiley
is the first in a trilogy about a family in Iowa across war and love. West of Sunset by Stewart O’Nan is a fictional novel about F.Scott Fitzgerald in Hollywood. Dietland by Sarai Walker introduces us to Plum Kettle, who is being followed by a woman who wants her to see the true cost of the weight loss surgery she’s planning on. The Petticoat Men by Barbara Ewing is a fictional novel about Mattie, the landlady of Fanny and Stella, men who dress as women in Victorian England.

Last but definitely not least, Harper Collins YA kindly sent me a copy of The Sacred Lies of Minnow Bly by Stephanie Oakes to continue my descent (ascent?) into the world of YA once again. Minnow was in a cult, but now the leader has been murdered and the camp ablaze. Minnow knows something about this, but she’s not talking from her cell. Can striking a deal give Minnow the freedom of her dreams? I’m planning to start this book this week, it sounds so good! Thanks!

Phew! That’s it from me this week; I need to move some shelves!

What did you receive or purchase this week? Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

14 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 22/6/15: The end of an era – and the start of a new one

Add yours

  1. Ha – great haul from the closing and I do hope you do as well with the new opening. Jane Smiley is the only of your authors I have read. Happy Reading!

  2. So many books! Out of theme all I think The Winter Garden is the one I’d most want to read. And I’m right there with you and needing more book shelves! Happy reading!

  3. You really scored at the book sale! I’ve been meaning to start Dietland, All Involved, and Disclaimer. Glad that the store will be staying open 🙂 Have a great week!

  4. Wow! I’ve just heard a bookshop that is having a closing down sale (not quite a local one for me) so I’m trying to scheme my way there in the next week… looking at your haul, I’ve fears for myself lol

    I’ve just started Minnow Bly this morning! Very very good start 😀
    Can’t wait to go home so I can read more!!!!

      1. it was a great read!

        oh, the bookshop… I was being very very good… I spent nearly $200 but only 2 books were for me. The upshot is that I’m pretty much done with Christmas shopping 😀

  5. Wonderful selection! I remember buying a pile of books when Borders, one of our larger chain bookstores, shut down. I got one of my favorite bird books there. Unfortunately they never reopened.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

