Mailbox Monday 6/7/15

I’ve been feeling lazy all weekend – possibly because of this mailbox haul! There are some great reads here that I can’t wait to get into. Do click on the links for each title if you want to know more – they will take you to the publisher or bookseller’s page for that book. (I don’t get anything for this but the lovely feeling of adding to your wish list!)

I attended PTALive (Penguin Teen Australia) last week to find out what’s on the radar for young adult reads. There looks like some stellar books coming up later in 2015 and early 2016. I couldn’t help but pick up a few new books too. Thanks to Felicity for an entertaining evening with a great bookish vibe!

Kylie Fornasier’s Masquerade
was a free read from Penguin for attending – it’s set in Carnevale in 1750 and sounds like a fun read where anything could happen. (Kylie’s next book is out in 2016 and has a rural theme – no title as yet). Simon vs The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli got rave reviews on the night – Simon is 16 and gets into big trouble when his emails are seen by someone else at school. Carousel by Brendan Ritchie is a dystopian read set in Perth – but I was sold by the reveal that it’s based on a shopping centre I know well from my youth. Vanishing Girls by Lauren Oliver has been lurking on my radar for some time – Nick needs to find Dara and Madeline before it’s too late.

I also received my Bookworld order in record time (nothing more tempting than a ‘we miss you – would a discount help?’ email). Thanks guys!

Zoe Norton Lodge is a very funny lady on screen and in print – I’m halfway through Almost Sincerely and love the humour in this memoir of growing up in inner city Sydney. Malice by Keigo Higashino
(translated from the Japanese) is about a murdered author. I’m sure A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara needs no introduction – but if you haven’t heard about it, it’s about four college graduates in New York. What do you think of the Australian cover?

What did you receive or purchase this week? Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

 

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 6/7/15

Add yours

  1. The Penguin Teen event sounds awesome! SIMON is a favorite of mine and CAROUSEL sounds really cool. Thanks for putting ALMOST SINCERELY on my radar. Happy reading, Sam!

  2. How exciting to receive those books. My TBR pile has almost taken over my home I have to restrain myself. I will have to get hold of Carousel as I remember going to that shopping centre before it was developed. I think I was about 10 or 11. Enjoy your reading.

  3. A Little Life is on my wish list. I like your cover better than the one in the US. I would never have looked at a book with that cover without all the glowing reviews.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

