Mailbox Monday 13/7/15

It’s been a mixed week for me. I attended a food and wine festival (good) and got the worst haircut in the world (bad). It’s no wonder that I had to do a little shopping to make myself feel better!

But first, what was actually in the mailbox:

On Brunswick Ground by Catherine De Saint Phalle came thanks to Transit Lounge. It’s set in a suburb of Melbourne and is about a number of women, all with a feeling of loss that is compounded by the (real-life) death of a local resident.

I returned to recently reopened Dymocks Hay St, which is slowly but surely restocking their shelves. I managed to snag My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante, translated from the Italian by Ann Goldstein (Ferrante fever is taking Australia by storm, it was no easy task finding the first novel in the Neapolitan series). It’s about Elena and Lila, growing up in Naples in the 1950s. As always, I’m a sucker for series and this Faber Modern Classic, The New York Trilogy by Paul Auster has me intrigued. It’s three stories about a detective writer who is himself drawn into an investigation.

I also went to Boffins, which packs a load of good books into its basement store. Here I bought another Faber Modern Classic, Aunt Julia and the Scriptwriter by Mario Vargas Llosa
(translated from the Spanish by Helen R. Lane). It’s about Marito, who wants to become a writer but his plans are thrown into the disarray of Aunt Julia and an eccentric scriptwriter. Dinner at the Homesick Restaurant by Anne Tyler
(oops – another series, this time Vintage Classics) is about the unravelling of family secrets as Pearl is on her deathbed. The Book of You by Claire Kendal looked too good to pass by the bargain bin for – it’s about Clarissa and her disturbing colleague Rafe. On jury duty, she thought she could be free of him, but the case is disturbingly familiar…

What did you receive or purchase this week? Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

14 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 13/7/15

Add yours

  1. Oh, The Book of You was definitely a chilling read…hope you enjoy it. And I am feeling nostalgic at the sight of the Anne Tyler book. It’s been a while since I read that one.

    Sorry about the bad haircut…I have had my share of those.

    Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

