Mailbox Monday 20/7/15

I don’t know where last week went! It seemed to be an exercise in sleep, work and repeat. In the midst of that I did start reading A Little Life (which is fantastic) but I’m not reading as quickly as I usually do because I want to savour every word!

I was lucky enough to receive some book post this week and get out to buy a couple of new releases.

Two books arrived from the kind people at Pan Macmillan Australia.
The Bit in Between by Claire Varley
is for a blog tour next month. I am a sucker for comparisons to books I’ve loved (this book is suggested for fans of One Day, The Rosie Project, Lost & Found and Nick Hornby), plus this book was extracted from the slush pile. It’s about Alison and Oliver, who fall in love in slightly crazy circumstances (think an airport lounge, sundried tomatoes and vomit). When they go to the Solomon Islands for Oliver to write his second novel, things start to get more difficult.

Not only does Salt Creek by Lucy Treloar have a gorgeous cover, it also looks like a fascinating read. Set in South Australia’s Coorong, in 1855, it’s about the Finch family. Fallen on hard times, the Finches try to make a go of it, at the detriment of the Ngarrindjeri people and the question is asked: is this what civilization is? Both these books are available in August.

I also bought a little book that some of you may have heard about – Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee. I’ve tried to stay away from reviews, but some information is seeping in anyway.

What did you receive or purchase this week? Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 20/7/15

Add yours

  1. I saw The Bit In Between on Netgalley- it sounds really good. Salt Creek is new to me. Hope you enjoy Watchman- everyone is talking about it!

  2. Salt Creek does look interesting. I’m waiting to hear a few blogger thoughts before getting Go Set A Watchman.
    Sometimes ‘sleep, work, repeat’ is how we get through a week. I hope this week adds more.

  3. My bookclub has picked Watchman for the September book, but I’m not sure I want to read it. Some of the early reviews are disappointing. I’m looking forward to reading what some of my favorite bloggers think. 🙂

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

