Mailbox Monday 17/8/15

We have had some beautiful spring weather lately. It’s lovely to feel warm again and the wildflowers are going crazy! It’s also great to laze around a read a book or three without having to worry about which parts of your body aren’t warm enough. I had a lovely week in terms of book mail. A huge thanks to Bookworld, Hachette and Pan Macmillan for the book love this week.

The first to arrive was Jeremy (sorry, still on the Top Gear thing) Rawblood by Catriona Ward from Hachette. I hadn’t heard of the book until the lovely surprise, but it looks completely up my alley. It’s about the Villarca family, who are haunted by their ancestors. When Iris digs deeper, she finds lies and secrets – and decides to break all the rules to horrific consequences. I think this is going to be a book for a very sunny day for me! The book will be released on 29/9/15 in Australia.

Vanessa Diffenbaugh’s We Never Asked for Wings
(she wrote The Language of Flowers) has got a gorgeous golden cover. It’s for a blog tour next month – I was interested in the storyline, which asks how far would a parent go for their children? Letty is a single mum who has always relied on her mother – until now. Letty and her son Alex fight over the decisions made, past and present, but both will risk everything for love. Thanks Pan Macmillan. This book will be released on September 1st.

I also received a surprise package from Bookworld to say thanks for everything over the years – they have been bought by Booktopia. Thanks to all the wonderful staff I’ve chatted with over the years – you all have a passion for books, which shows in your work. I hope that those of you who are moving on to other adventures have great fun and great bookshelves!

In the package was this year’s Vogel winning book, When There’s Nowhere Else to Run by Murray Middleton. It’s a series of short stories set across Australia with characters who find their lives unravelling. Shining: The Story of a Lucky Man by Abdi Aden and Robert Hillman is a true story about Abdi’s life. Fleeing from Somalia during the civil war, Abdi made a dangerous journey to a refugee camp in Kenya. But he then returned to find his family, eventually escaping Somalia via Europe, ending up in Australia. It sounds like a story of courage and spirit against the odds, and it’s also signed by Abdi.

Last but not least was a copy of Vera Brittain’s Testament of Youth. It’s her autobiography, set during and after World War I. It looks so detailed (and thick! It’s 612 pages). A great surprise.

You might noticed there aren’t any books I’ve bought in this week’s edition – thought I would save that for next week 😉

What did you receive or purchase this week? Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

10 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 17/8/15

Add yours

  1. The cover of We Never Asked for Wings is gorgeous. It sounds like a compelling read too. Spring weather sounds nice to me…it’s like an oven in my neck of the woods.

  2. Congratulations, you have had an excellent week. (Book wise). There are a couple of those books I’d like to read. I always find your blog useful to find good books.
    Happy reading in your sunny weather. It’s wet here today.

  3. Rawblood sounds really intriguing! I love the sound of it, though I tend to read these on stormy nights rather than sunny days! And I love that cover for Vanessa Diffenbaugh’s book, it’s absolutely gorgeous.
    Happy reading!

  4. Wow! Rawblood sounds amazing. I hope you get to enjoy the nice spring weather! I’m ready for things to cool off around here and for fall to start. Have a great week!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

