Mailbox Monday 31/8/15

Well, it’s been a busy week! I’ve been on holiday and am just getting back into the swing of everyday life (like having to get my own breakfast!). I didn’t buy as many books as I thought I would, which was probably a good thing because my suitcase was FULL on the way home! I’ll talk about my new purchases next week, but here’s what arrived in the letterbox during that time:

(Apologies for the pic quality, I’ve brought home the grey skies and you can tell I’m not quite on the right time zone!)

Mega thanks to Hachette Australia, Harlequin Australia, Scribe, Allen & Unwin, The Reading Room
and Goodreads for the goodies. There is nothing like the feeling of a parcel addressed to you!

Michael Koryta’s Last Words
(Hachette)
is about PI Mark Novak. He’s not doing too well after the death of his wife and his work is suffering. Sent to Indiana to be out of the way, Mark starts work on a cold case. However, when he starts digging into small town secrets, he finds more than he bargained for.

I’ve really been looking forward to Rachael Johns’ new book, The Patterson Girls, out October from Harlequin. (Actually, so have all the rest of the readers in the family). It’s about four sisters returning home after the death of their mother. All of them have their own issues, but little did they know about a secret family curse! Will this change their lives for the better – or worse?

I haven’t read any of Jussi Adler Olsen’s previous Department Q series, but The Hanging Girl (out September from Hachette, translated by William Frost) looks perfect for a crime read. It’s about a cold case on a remote Danish island 17 years ago and only Department Q can sort this out. There’s whispers of cult involvement, but it soon seems that there is a more sinister individual involved.

Fever of Animals by Miles Allinson (Scribe) has been on my radar, particularly as it won the Victorian Premier’s Unpublished Manuscript Award last year (this award is a great indicator of awesome talent IMHO). Also, the cover is intriguing! Miles goes to Europe on the trail of a disappeared painter, but comes to reflect on his failed relationship in a foreign culture.

Finally, Susan Johnson’s The Landing
was a win from Allen and Unwin and Goodreads. The cover is so summery! It’s about Jonathan, recently single and in need of a new wife. Who should he choose and how much does love matter?

What did you receive or purchase this week? Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 31/8/15

Add yours

  1. Hope you had a great holiday! I always end up buying books when I’m away too. The Patterson Girls and The Landing sound good to me. Happy reading πŸ™‚

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

