Mailbox Monday 14/9/15: Melbourne Trip

As promised, here is my haul from my Melbourne trip. Because I made the trip in winter (and the airline has restricted suitcase size), I had criteria for book buying this trip:

  1. It must be something that is not easily obtainable at home (i.e. no bestsellers).
  2. It can’t be too big in size
  3. It must be something I have to have now.

That’s how I ended up with just seven books! On the positive side, my case was underweight (but still needed squishing down and the use of the expander zip).

I’m excited about David Sedaris returning to Australia next year, so I had to have a copy of When You Are Engulfed in Flames. This is a collection of essays on everyday life and sounds hilarious. I did mean to read this on the way home but was sidetracked by the 3 for $10 magazine rack at the airport.

Ghost Moth by Michѐle Forbes
is set in Northern Ireland between 1949 and 1969. Everything from the city to Katherine’s family appear to be on the brink of collapse as secrets are revealed.

The Misinterpretation of Tara Jupp by Eva Rice is set in the 1960s as Tara is catapulted into life in London as a singer. Will she make it, yet stay true to herself?

Mhairi McFarlane’s It’s Not Me It’s You sounded funny yet moving. It’s about Delia, who moves to a new city after some life-altering issues. But, in this job, truth is optional and Delia wonders if it’s worth starting new or living in a mess.

Lucky Us by Amy Bloom is set in 1940s America as two sisters make their way to Hollywood and beyond on the back of broken families.

Underworld London by Catharine Arnold is non fiction, focusing on the history of London crime and its underworld.

Johnson’s Life of London by Boris Johnson discusses the history of London and its people.

I was also lucky enough to receive a copy of Charlotte Wood’s The Natural Way of Things (out October) from Allen & Unwin and The Reading Room. It’s about two women, kidnapped from their lives and held captive in the middle of the desert. They find themselves and others to be linked to a sexual scandal, but soon the situation becomes dire as the food runs out. Thank you – this book looks creepy yet compelling.

What did you receive or purchase this week? Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 14/9/15: Melbourne Trip

Add yours

  1. What a fantastic haul (and love your stipulations!). Lucky you getting a copy of Charlotte Wood’s title. If you haven’t already watched the book trailer, it’s cinematic, creepy and very moving all at once – look forward to hearing what you think of it.

  2. I came back from Melbourne with more books than I could carry! I had to buy a new bag to keep them in… at least the train luggage size isn’t as constricted as the airlines =P the bookshops there are the best! I bought Mhairi McFarlane’s book last week at Big W, it looks so fun!

  3. As a Londoner (by adoption – originally from Cape Town, and now after 30yrs, living in China) I absolutely loved the Boris Johnson book about London. He wears his erudition lightly, and writes wittily – altogether a wonderful history of a wonderful city.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

