Mailbox Monday 21/9/15

Busy week this week! I’ve been working six days a week for a while, and it doesn’t look like ending soon! Reading before bedtime has become my saviour, as it’s the main time to relax! I haven’t had too much time for shopping, so I’m grateful for these books that appeared on my doorstep. Thank you!

I received two new releases from Scribe Publications. Hope Farm by Peggy Frew
(23/9/15) is set in the 1980s in a commune. Silver finds friends there, but she also finds herself in the adult world, with deadly consequences. Good Money by J.M. Green (shortlisted for the Victorian Premier’s Literary Aware for an Unpublished Manuscript, which is a great guide to new talent) is about a social worker who loves laksa and alcohol. Stella finds herself in the middle of a murder and disappearing neighbour – can she find the killer before he finds her? (Released 26/10/15).

Hester & Harriet by Hilary Spiers (November release) was from Allen & Unwin and The Reading Room. The ladies of the title live happily in an English village until they take home a young girl and her baby. Then things start to get busy as strangers and family appear on their doorstep. What happened to quiet?

Tennison by Lynda La Plante was a surprise from Simon & Schuster. Set in 1973, it’s about young WPC Jane Tennison and a violent murder that shows us the start of her story.

Trigger Mortis by Anthony Horowitz is the latest James Bond book, set in 1957. Familiar names such as SMERSH and Pussy Galore return but there are new foes and friends to explore. Thanks Hachette Australia and The Reading Room!

What did you receive or purchase this week? Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

8 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 21/9/15

Add yours

  1. You are always introducing me to new books! Hester and Harriet caught my eye. I hope you are reading something great before bedtime! But what happens to me is then I want to stay up all night reading.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

