Mailbox Monday 5/10/15

A bit of a grey day today. My footy team lost the Grand Final and the majority of the rest of the country have a holiday today.

The mailbox is fairly small too, as I clocked up the hours during the week. I was lucky and won a prize from Allen & Unwin, which I’m going to read at lunchtime in an attempt to stop people asking me random questions! It’s Larissa Dubecki’s Prick with a Fork (best title ever with a cheeky cover), a memoir of her time in the food industry as a waitress. It looks like it has some bite to it, which sounds like just what I need!

As for titles I bought…

Sweet Caress by William Boyd is about female photographer Amory Clay in the early half of last century. She appears to be one of a kind, living a life full of lovers, dreams and demons.

I first heard about Julie Murphy’s Dumplin’ at PTALive earlier this year. It’s a YA title about Willowdean (aka Dumplin’) who has never really thought about her body but things change for the worse. To win back her confidence, she enters a beauty pageant. Dolly Parton and red candy suckers may be involved…

What did you receive or purchase this week? Do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday 5/10/15

Add yours

  1. Prick with a Fork sounds so fun! Though it might make your coworkers ask you even more questions. Dumplin’ is a good one- hope you like it!

  2. Bad luck about your football team. I know how you feel. I love the sound of Prick with a Fork. I will have to read it. It actually sounds like a “naughty” book as well. 😃😃😃😃😃😃

  3. Memoir about being a waitress should be good.

    ENJOY all of your books.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My Mailbox Monday

    A giveaway for A CURIOUS BEGINNING IS happening on my blog until October 7, then a giveaway for THE SILENT SISTER and also EVERYTHING SHE FORGOT beginning October 6.

  4. Ok, now I’m curious – I want to read Prick with a Fork…. I can imagine some of the customers that waitress has gotten!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

