5 Comfort Reads & Authors to Cheer You Up

As I mentioned earlier in the week, I’ve been doing a lot of DNF (‘did not finish’) when it comes to books. One thing that was suggested to me on Twitter by @BatgirlElimy was:

I thought long and hard about this (thanks Emily!) and thought I’d put together a list of comfort reads for when this happens again (I’m such a pessimist!). But hey, I’ll be prepared! I used to reread a lot when I was younger, now there doesn’t seem enough space in the day to do so. However, these books were so absorbing the first time round that I think they would be just the tonic.

1. The Nightingale series by Donna Douglas

Series seem to make me feel very cosy and comfortable. Maybe it’s because you know that all the main characters are going to get plenty of page time. I love nursing stories (historical in particular) and there are always sweet and funny scenes. (Plus I know that I still have books up my sleeve to read).

Reviews: The Nightingale Girls | The Nightingale Sisters | The Nightingale Nurses | Nightingales on Call

2. Anything by Richard Yates

Yes, I know that Revolutionary Road isn’t joyous (in fact, none of his books can be described as happy). But I always know that each story will be brilliantly written and a careful examination of the human character.

Reviews: The Easter Parade | Eleven Kinds of Loneliness

3. The Bunyip Bay series by Rachael Johns

Another series, this time life and love in rural W.A. It’s local, it’s hot (in terms of boys and weather) and there’s always a happy ending. Plus, there’s more to come in the series in 2016 with my favourite supporting character, Frankie, getting a book with her sister Simone.

Reviews: Outback Dreams | Outback Blaze | Outback Ghost

4. Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell

Because a reading slump is nowhere as bad as what Scarlett O’Hara went through. And she had the guts to do it wearing a dress made from curtains.

5. A story so bonkalicious that you can’t help but be carried away…

Think Jackie Collins, Tilly Bagshawe, Tasmina Perry – the more outlandish, the better!

Review: Confessions of a Wild Child | Flawless | Scandalous | Original Sin

Care to share your comfort reads?

6 thoughts on “5 Comfort Reads & Authors to Cheer You Up

Add yours

  1. I always re-read Gatsby when I’m going through a reading slump – it’s short and good and always cheers me up.
    Agree that anything by Yates would also work, although I ration my reading of Yates because his stories are so quietly depressing!

  2. I think the only books I have gone back and re read are The Famous Five books. I didn’t have enough new ones to satisfy me. I think I would go more with comfort authors. Rachael John’s would be one, Rebecca Raisin, JD Robb and probably a few others.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

