Mailbox Monday & It’s Monday! What are you reading? 9/11/15

Good morning! I couldn’t help but do some book splurging over the last week (perhaps because I’ve got a really busy roster coming up). Plus, November is an awesome time for new releases!

I was lucky and received a surprise from Echo Publishing in the mail, Olmec Obituary by L.J.M. Owen. It’s about Dr Elizabeth Pimms, archaeologist and intermillennial sleuth. Can she find the reason behind a 3000 year old death in the Mexican jungle?

For my own shopping, I went a little crazy at Dymocks (so crazy that I’ve had to split my finds in two – more next week). Here’s the new releases I just couldn’t resist:

Welcome to Night Vale by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor sounded really interesting in Curiosity Killed the Bookworm’s review. It’s about a community that appears every day, but where ghosts, aliens and conspiracies are part of the accepted day to day life. Two mysteries are about to converge… (There’s also a podcast of the same name).

Even though I have an eBook of City on Fire by Garth Risk Hallberg, I couldn’t resist the massive paperback (over 900 pages). The inserts and pictures look fantastic. It’s set in 1977 New York after a murder as a group of people come together to find the shooter…

You Don’t Have to Like This by Benjamin Markovits continues my fascination with Detroit, this time in fiction. It’s about two men who decide to build a new America (and fortune) in the decay of Detroit’s abandoned houses. But of course there’s problems and soon they will need to pick a side…

What would Christmas be without a new Jeremy Clarkson book? As I was saying… is a collection of his World According to Clarkson columns with an introduction of what he’s been up to while unemployed (no mention of the VW Golf).

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

I’ve also decided to take part this week in It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

And on that Bombshell by Richard Porter (a must for Top Gear fans, review tomorrow)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

What I am Reading at Present:


Audio:


Up Next:

12 thoughts on “Mailbox Monday & It’s Monday! What are you reading? 9/11/15

Add yours

  1. You’ve certainly bought some interesting books. Good on you. Books make the world go round and there is nothing more rewarding than time spent reading.
    I love the cover of Think Like a Freak.

  2. I so love Isabel Allende’s novels – particularly her earlier ones (House of the Spirits/ Stories of Eva Luna) – I am truly looking forward to reading her most recent ones, as they look really interesting.

  3. City on Fire looks so appealing, but it is so long!! Only hardcovers in stores here, but I took a peak and love all the little extras inside. I’m thinking about reading it on winter vacation.

  4. I am trying so hard not to buy any new books. I have just gone through my TBR mountains and gotten rid of a couple hundred books that I didn’t think I would ever get around to reading. I have lots that I kept that I really should read before I buy any more. Come see what I am reading here. Happy reading!

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

