Monday 23/11/15: In the mailbox & what I’m reading

I had a few days off last week and it was a very good time to be home! I got a few parcels in the mail and did some shopping (I still haven’t finished Christmas shopping though…oops).

I received a copy of Girls Who Travel by Nicole Trilivas from Penguin, it’s the perfect summer read. I actually read it in a day, something I don’t get the opportunity to do very often. It’s about Kika, who adores travelling but to fund her dream needs to do some boring office type work. Then things turn pear shaped and she’s fired, only to get a job as an au pair in London. Is this the perfect place for more travel and meeting her boyfriend, or something else?

I also received two books from Hachette, the first being The Life and Death of Sophie Stark by Anna North. The story of Sophie is told be those who loved her – and those who were at the mercy of this film director’s genius. It’s out December in Australia. Also out next month, is an adult historical fiction book by Sarra Manning. After the Last Dance is a dual narrative story between WWII London and present day Las Vegas. As sparks fly between Jane and Rose, can they make peace with their secrets?

I also snuck in a small Booktopia order:

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff has intrigued me with its mix of documents, dossiers and transcripts. This YA novel is set in 2575 and involves space opera, zombies, politics and romance. It’s also the first in a trilogy, plus my copy is signed. Yay! Bill Bryson’s The Road to Little Dribbling
has him back in Britain making a new journey twenty years after Notes from a Small Island.

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

Girls Who Travel by Nicole Trivilas

What I’m Reading at the Moment:

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante


Audio:

Nothing at the moment – need to decide this today!

Up Next:

Not too sure…feel free to recommend me something!

10 thoughts on “Monday 23/11/15: In the mailbox & what I’m reading

  1. Ah, I bet that was lovely being able to devour a book in a day – bliss!

    I’ve been seen Illuminae all over the place at the moment… For me, personally, I think it has too much going on for me to enjoy it. Having said that, I haven’t actually tried to read it! Enjoy!!

  2. I’ve been meaning to get my hands on a copy of Illuminae – that’s my kind of novel with all the marginalia. 🙂 Looking forward to reading your thoughts about it.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

