Monday 30/11/15: In the mailbox & what I’m reading

Wow, the end of November! There’s so many things I need to get done – such as Christmas shopping and devour all the Elena Ferrante books I can get my hands on. What about you?

The Christmas frenzy has already started here – Christmas lights and decorations everywhere, people madly shopping and parties. It seems to get earlier every year! The thing I do like is that parcel post delivers on the weekend in the lead up to Christmas (although I feel sorry for our delivery man, who is now working six days a week). He brought a lovely parcel on Sunday morning:

Nantucket by Harrison Young arrived thanks to Ventura Press. It’s about a couple who throw lavish parties in Nantucket. With the arrival of two mysterious guests from opposite sides of the world, life is changed for the guests forever after a number of scandalous events. (Interestingly, Harrison Young is the director of one of Australia’s major banks).

I also bought a couple of books locally at Boffins Books (I know, I had to restrain myself). I chose two nonfiction books about Japan. Bending Adversity by David Pilling looks at Japan from both a cultural and economic perspective in light of recent events (it also talks about Haruki Murakami). Lost Japan by Alex Kerr (translated from the Japanese, in which Alex originally wrote it in) is about the arts of ancient Japan, the culture and how modernisation is affecting it.


If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I’m Reading at the Moment:

What I Read Last Week:

My Brilliant Friend by Elena Ferrante


What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Hester and Harriet by Hilary Spiers

Audio:


Up Next:

Some nonfiction – perhaps one of the Japan books.

16 thoughts on “Monday 30/11/15: In the mailbox & what I’m reading

Add yours

  1. Gosh, the last time I went to Boffins I bought a colouring in book and some wax pencils. At least it was an adult colouring in book. I hope I don’t go outside the lines! It is supposed to be very relaxing, have you tried it?

  2. I can’t believe it’s December, so much to do and so little time. Nantucket got my attention, sounds like one I’d enjoy. Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

