Monday 21/12/15: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Wow, so this is Christmas week. I think I still have two more Christmas parties to go, and then I’ll be working on Christmas Day so I should probably take the chance to eat and relax before! I’m starting to think about my favourite reads of 2015 (I know many of you have already posted them), but trimming them down is hard work!

I received two parcels this week, I think our poor parcel postman is working extra hard in the lead up to Christmas. The first book (with additional movie tickets), The Secret in Their Eyes by Eduardo Sacheri
(translated from the Spanish by John Cullen) was a prize from Dymocks– yay! It’s about a retired detective obsessed by a cold case and now beginning to write about it. As he writes, the mystery flows into his current life as well as his unrequired love for a judge.

That Devil’s Madness by Dominique Wilson (released February) is described as part family saga, part warzone and part moral maze. It’s set between Algeria and Australia, as Nicolette retraces her grandfather’s footsteps and finds things have changed greatly during that time. The novel promises to full of tension, friendship and the struggle for freedom, dignity and respect. Thanks to Transit Lounge for the copy.

I continued my reading of the Nightingale series by Donna Douglas with the latest two books in the series. Nightingales at War takes place during WWII, when the nurses are in the thick of the Blitz. Nightingales Under the Mistletoe takes place at Christmas, 1941 and I’m pleased to see some familiar faces are returning. The Fever by Megan Abbott was very popular on release (so I’m late to the party here) and is about a group of girls who collapse at school – is it hysteria or something more sinister?

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

Nantucket by Harrison Young

What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Nothing…it was a busy week and I just can’t decide on a new read late at night!

Audio:


(Will finish this audiobook this week)

Up Next:

I’m going to charge my Kindle and see what looks good…

10 thoughts on “Monday 21/12/15: In the Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Add yours

  1. I really like the sound of the Donna Douglas books, they’re the kind I think I’d enjoy. Sound very real from the quick look I took at one of your links. Have a great Christmas – working hmm. That can be hard but fun.

  2. Rotten luck having to work Christmas Day, but I’m sure your co workers will be in a celebratory mood. I love the sound of the cold case book, The Secret in their Eyes. I love crime books. Merry Christmas even though you have to work and I hope you receive lots of books for Christmas.

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

