Monday 28/12/15: Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Happy last Monday of 2015! Thank you to our hosts of Mailbox Monday and It’s Monday! What are you reading? to allow us to share what we’re up to each Monday and the books that have entered our world.

For Mailbox Monday, I thought I’d share the non-fiction books I received for Christmas. We’ll leave the fiction for next week 😉 First though is a prize I won from Better Read Than Dead bookshop in Newtown, Sydney via Instagram. Gold Fame Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins not only has a cool cover, but it sounds like an original read too. It is set in the near future where water is prized and finding a water diviner might tear Luz and Ray apart…

I was very lucky to receive three non-fiction books for Christmas. Bird Minds by Gisela Kaplan
is about native Australian birds – how smart they are and how they behave. It’s pretty scientific but the parts I’ve read are really interesting. Adam Spencer’s World of Numbers isn’t just facts, there are quite a few brainteasers there too. There are also facts and figures about the elements of the periodic table, but it’s written in an easy to understand fashion. Dr Karl Kruszelnicki’s science books are a holiday staple – his latest is Dr Karl’s Short Back & Science. I really like these quirky science stories and I can’t wait to find out the weight of a cloud…

If you want to check out more exciting bookshelves, do drop by the Mailbox Monday blog for links to everyone’s mailbox goodies. Overseen by Vicki (I’d Rather Be at the Beach), Leslie (Under My Apple Tree) and Serena (Savvy Verse & Wit), I’m sure you’ll find many books for the wish list!

It’s Monday! What are you reading? hosted by Book Date and formerly by Book Journey and J Kaye. Click on the pictures to read more about the books.

What I Read Last Week:

By My Side by Lizzy Chandler

What I’m Reading at the Moment:

Audio:


(I have 3 minutes left!)

Print:

Swimming Home by Mary-Rose MacColl

Up Next:

Something from the Christmas pile…

21 thoughts on “Monday 28/12/15: Mailbox & What I’m Reading

Add yours

  1. I love your non fiction Christmas haul and I can’t wait to see the fiction selection. Your gift givers must know you well.
    Dr Karl has wonderful titles for his books. Enjoy.

  2. Hi Sam,

    I am not a big non-fiction reader, although I can see a couple of your books that hubbie might enjoy (Short Back & Science and World Of Numbers). For me, I prefer coffe table books, which guests might enjoy browsing, so I would choose ‘Bird Minds’, especially as you get such beautiful and unusual species over in Oz 🙂

    Thanks for sharing and have a great New Year 🙂

    Yvonne

  3. Swimming Home is calling me … love the cover. Dr Karl’s science books are heaps of fun. Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

I enjoy reading your comments! Thanks for stopping by.

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

